We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive for budget travellers but an excellent hotel otherwise”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“expensive for budget travellers but an excellent hotel otherwise”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

ended up here by accident; could not get any rooms anywhere else in the region! we got the suite at half the price and a breakfast thrown in. the room turned out to be fantastic and the breakfast very nice. the service personnels were all really very nice. the location is really nice, at a quiet corner yet just off the main street with loads of restaurants and shops, and very close to the Tapestry museum. it is rather pricey, even if we did get a discount, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WengKeeLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
218
558
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel common areas and rooms are clean, beautiful, modern, and fantastic in every way. The bathroom is spotless, beautiful tile everywhere. Huge walk in showers. Free parking for my car. The room has modern and comfortable central air conditioning. Location is a 1 minute walk from main Bayeux road and cathedral. The bedrooms are quite large. Service fantastic. I called to report a poorly working tv remote, they had someone up in here in 5 minutes to fix it. Also, the woman at the front desk got up out of her seat and walked to the front of the hotel with me to show me where the free private car parking was.

If you are coming to Bayeux, this is the place to stay.

5 star hotel in Bayeux.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniMinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Villa Lara is a luxury hotel in Bayeux (Normandy) FRANCE. My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.

Everything about this hotel lived up to its high billing.

The rooms were top notch. And, the service from the hotel staff was exceptional. The staff went out of their way to do whatever needed done for you. My wife and I had the continental breakfast, which is an option. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDonnieDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rated a four star Hotel, the Hotel Villa Lara must not get the fifth star only due to the smaller size, because everything was absolutely top notch. Beautiful, well run with excellent service and and the middle of everything that someone visiting Bayeux would want. It is basically across the street from the Bayeux Tapestry, less than a half block from the middle of town and a wide selection of restaurants, stores and a short drive to the "fifty yard line" of the Normandy Beaches.

Bayeux is a town that "welcomes their liberators" (a sign seen all around town) and given that this is the 70th anniversary of the D Day invasion, this "liberator" sign were accompanied by signs that read "we are all 70 years old". At least one area of the world has not forgotten.

If you want to visit the Normandy Beach Area, this is the five star place to stay on a four star price.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and quiet. They also provide very nice and safe gated parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Immaculate new building in the heart of historic Bayeux. Privately owned and run by Francois & Rima the service is excellent and they are great hosts. Food and wine of the best quality and well equipped rooms and private secure car park. Can't recommend highly enough - we were returning from the Le Mans Classic and Francois who is a car enthusiast took a particular interest in our car.
Will return - and cannot think there can be better in Bayeux.
Mark & Teri

Room Tip: Lovely views to the Cathedral from rooms on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I scheduled a trip from the USA to visit the Normandy beaches and Mont St Michele. Our travel agent selected Villa Lara since we did not have time to analyze all of the available hotels. "Stay at the Villa Lara" she said, "and you won't be disappointed." Well, we did and we weren't. It's a brand new hotel built in the local style and perfectly placed to enjoy the attributes of Bayeux and the historical features of the area. All of the accolades are spot on, so we won't repeat the obvious. And oh, there's a flat LCD TV that announces your arrival as well.
Some other points are the nearby train station that connects to Caen and Paris, the shuttles to the Normandy beaches, Mont Ste. Michele, and the Bayeux Discover Walks Tour (ask for Christele). There also is a good arrangement of stores and restaurants in town.
The bathroom has a tub and shower, the bed clothes are sumptuous and the room was tastefully decorated.
Breakfast is available each morning (20 euros), and by the way, Villa Lara lodging is not inexpensive, but we believe the location, comfort and management are the best for the money spent.

Room Tip: Our room that viewed the cathedral on the second floor as excellent. There is no significant traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandsomeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed at a lot of hotels in France & parts of Europe over the years & as frequent travellers know, they are generally small and old, which adds sometimes to the experience, also it can be a handicap. We stayed at the Villa Lara & as advertised it was built in the last decade to traditional European decor but offering all that modern hotels give you and that is nice size rooms quality bathrooms & Toilet facilities that you come to expect from modern hotels, everything worked the staff were very attentive, nothing was a problem DO NOT HESITATE to stay at his beautiful hotel, oh yes it has very convenient parking NO EXTRA CHARGE which is lacking in Europe,
and a very convenient position in this lovely city

Room Tip: This hotel is in a very quite position behind the main street all rooms would be excellent I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing