We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very special place!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Villa Lara and this was a wonderful way to begin our time in France.
Since I enthusiastically agree with all the positive things everyone else has said, I'll try to focus on details that may not have been posted already.

The chef who cooks the made to order eggs at the breakfast really does a superb job. He takes a lot of pride and occasionally leaves the kitchen to ask diners if their breakfast is satisfactory.

The bathroom included a tub and a separate shower stall. The tub included a pull out line which made washing of small items of clothing easy and convenient. I mention this because our hotel in Paris had no such line and that hotel claimed that a law had been passed prohibiting hotels for installing them. In that Parisian hotel, we had to purchase a small metal drying rack to deal with our washing and we looked back at our stay at Villa Lara as the good old days.

The staff is helpful and pleasant. We arrived in Bayeux with information about cheese producers and cider producers that allow visitors. After Morgana learned the only cheese producer who used to allow visitors no longer did, she arranged a taxi ride to a local cider producer we had discovered. There are many cider producers throughout Normandy, and Morgana wasn't familiar with this one. When we got back, she asked about our experience to better help future guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetNitNoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
211
533
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights this past may. All I can say is wow! Beautiful property, perfect location in Bayeux and the staff were awesome. I had a lovely view of the cathedral from my room, and everything in town is within walking distance. However, if you need a cab to the train station (luggage) it's just a quick €7. Restaurant recommendations were spot on as well. Would love to go back and stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lrmjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The villa Lara was recently built for use as a hotel resulting in large rooms with nice views. We had a suite with one very large bedroom and a smaller one with enormous windows and view out to the cathedral. The bathroom was good sized with a huge shower. All very comfortable and spacious. Small bar serving snacks and nice breakfast room with a good breakfast. Excellent location because it is the meeting point for tours to d day beaches and in the center of town.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Lara for 5 nights this past week. The rooms are beautiful, well furnished and large by traditional French standards, particularly Paris standards. The staff is superior, very knowledgeable of the area beyond Bayeux and provide great advice on local restaurants. Each of the staff members speak English, in fact one member is from the US (clearly fluent in French as well), all are incredibly friendly and outgoing...they are clearly there to see that every need of their guests are addressed. In addition the breakfast buffet is great, very convenient and always good. So, if you want to have a wonderful experience while in Normandy, I strongly recommend the Hotel Villa Lara in Bayeux.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Speechless is the best I can come up with to describe this hotel. From the warm and welcoming greating when we first checked in to the very spacious room, to the awesome breakfast (the bacon is to die for) everything about this hotel was outstanding.

Our room was large with a separate bathroom room. The bathroom had bath robes and slippers along with high end bathroom products. The bedroom had a very comfortable bed, curtains that blocked out the light. The entire hotel was quite and very elegant.

The breakfast was huge. Eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cuts, cereal, yogurt, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and if your like me, soda.

If you asked for something it was taken care of within moments. The staff were the best thing about this hotel. Fluent English and very kind.,

Will only stay at this hotel the next time we come to Normandy area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amb_Medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed two nights with a friend and were made most welcome. Although this hotel is in a small town, it competes with the best hotels I know. The service was flawless, the rooms very well appointed, the view onto the cathedral amazing. I shall be back!
Bayeux itself is a gorgeous town, full of history, set in beautiful countryside and with great restaurants to boot! This is well worth a visit, even if you are not interested in D-Day and the landing beaches (although they are worth a visit too).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at Villa Lara in Bayeux. Our trip to Normandy was to see the D-Day beaches and the various memorials and museums around the area and Bayeux was a great place to do that from. Villa Lara is tucked away behind the High Street in a quiet, tree lined square with very easy access to the Cathedral and the Tapestry Museum with shops and cafe's on the doorstep. It has it's own private carpark with access via a key card. The hotel appeared to be brand new but in a very French style with elegant rooms - ours had a view of the Cathedral. The bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard, even the beds had Villa Lara labels on and were cashmere covered. The blankets were pure alpaca - no expense seems to have been spared. Neither my husband or myself speak French so it was a relief to realise that the receptionists are all excellent English speakers and were helpful and friendly. The majority of the guests during our stay were Americans no doubt also in Normandy for the forthcoming 70th Annivery of the D-Day landings. Although we enjoyed our stay very much it is worth noting that this hotel only offers breakfast and a very limited room service menu and after paying 300 euros a night I felt that the extra charge of 20 euros each for breakfast was disappointing. To have made the breakfast complimentary would have made it a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing