We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Small Hotel”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“The Best Small Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our family (parents and teens) travels regularly in the US and Europe and Hotel Villa Lara is absolutely our favorite small hotel stay! Modern, beautifully decorated, attentive staff, outstanding location, and a charming bar/breakfast space. We chose two rooms (corner suite with a view of the Bayeaux Cathedral) that were uniquely styled and very spacious. Great fabrics and artwork abound in the rooms and the public spaces throughout this boutique hotel. We were also directed to two excellent restaurants by the concierge who booked both (L'angle Saint Laurent and LaRapiere) for us ahead of our arrival. We were in Bayeaux to tour the Normandy D-Day area. We chose Overlord Tours (also excellent) and were pleasantly surprised to learn they pick up all their customers in the square just outside the hotel. It was a quick 2 night stay and we look forward to returning to this exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Euro for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    49
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
221
561
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This little Hotel is fabulous. It is perfectly situated in the small historic town of Bayeau and is a wonderful place from which to spread out to see the sights of Normandy and surrounds. . We were so surprised by the lovely spacious room with sitting area and Balcony overlooking the old town square and Church. Because the Hotel is newish, it is fitted with all of the comforts one comes to expect from 5 Star Hotels. Perfect bedding and amenities. Very nice Buffet Breakfast. The Owner is charming and she supervises an extremely capable and friendly Staff. All in all, it is one of the best Hotels that we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous corner room overlooking the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarmaTo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I feel in love with this hotel. The rooms & bathrooms are up to date & perfect! The staff friendly, the hotel is in walking distance to all thimpngs. Take the train in from Paris then walk or take a very very short taxi ride to the hotel. You will want to stay awhile

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flyshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been meaning to write about Villa Lara since I left, 18 months ago. I spend about 4 weeks a year in Europe, and this is the best hotel experience I have had in Europe. Perfect location! Great rooms! Super friendly staff! It was priced more that other hotels in Bayeux, but it is worth every Euro. If you go, try to get a view of the Cathedral. The views from our balcony were amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExcelsiorTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is a real find.
I had some difficulties with finding it using SATNAV, because the hotel is located in the heart of the old town and some streets are pedestrian only. The fact that there is a free private secured parking at the hotel made a favourable impression right from the start.
The hotel is modern and very stylish with lots of designer objects. From the room #208 there was a terrific view over a peaceful square and an ancient channel. The room itself was very well appointed, tasteful and with comfortable beds. Despite the central location it was very quite during the night. I felt really sorry to have made the booking for only one night.
Next to the breakfast room there is a charming and extremely relaxing sitting area and a bar. The choice at the breakfast was very satisfactory, including fried eggs of our choice. As to the service, it was unobtrusive, yet attentive and professional.
When checking out, do not forget to take home some of their home-made jams, which were delicious.
Getting down to brass tacks, we paid 220 Euro for the room (twin) and 36 Euro for the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City,MO
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Oh my where do I start.We spent a month this past October and early November traveling through Normandy and two weeks in Paris. We rented country homes,Paris apartments and stayed several nights in a luxury Paris hotel.None came close to our two night fantastic stay at the Villa Laura. Bed was divine. View simply spectacular. Service and staff just outstanding. We ordered from room service both nights for dinner and coffee in the morning before we headed out for the day. We decided that the view from our window and ordering room service after an exhausting day(s) of exploring the DD beaches and all Bayeux has to offer was just the best decision ever. My soak in the tub was sublime.Amazing complimentary beverages in the mini bar was just the best ever! Bathe robes,slippers,fantastic toiletries and towels,just first class. Down to the amazing alpaca blanket on our divine king size bed with the best pillows I have ever slept on. Do yourself a favor and book early to ensure yourself a room in this amazing hotel. The staff is so very kind and simply lovely. I will definitely return to charming Bayeux and always stay in the Villa Laura. It is a sublime experience.

Room Tip: Room with a tub is a must and a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank torridtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Lara last week and it was the highlight of our European travel. We had driven from Brussels a day later than planned due to an illness. Villa Lara was so accommodating. They not only held our room but they did not charge us for the night that we had missed and they were fully booked. Our suite was absolutely beautiful and large enough to house our 17 year old son too. The breakfast was bountiful and the staff charming and very helpful. We enjoyed sitting by the fire and having an evening cocktail and shopping in the gift store. The proximity to the Cathedral, the Tapestry and the abundant shopping and dining options is simply perfect. The English speaking staff is a plus as well. We will look forward to another opportunity to visit this beautiful retreat!

Room Tip: Cannot imagine that there is a single room that would not be a great view in this hotel. It is perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing