We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Lara”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Glens Falls, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Lara”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A wonderful little hotel, clean and impeccably furnished with outstanding service and delicious breakfasts, situated in the charming little town of Bayeux, France and steps away from the town's magnificent cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
219
559
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautifully designed hotel that is outstanding in most every way. We stayed in a large, top floor room facing the Cathedral and it was incredibly quiet. Gorgeous linens--beautiful furniture.
Gated parking--lovely, helpful staff. Breakfast was lovely-a buffet-Turn Down Service would have been a very special "touch"--and maybe one day they will add this feature. Definitely will recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maruska c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We have recently stayed ay Vila Lara with a group of 50 people. everything was excellent: owners, service and rooms are simple great. I highly recommend it to everyone and you will enjoy the hotel and it's location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Background: travelled as couple, stayed 2 nights, booked standard room but upgraded to superior room

Pros: In the small and charming medieval town of Bayeux, we were surprised and delighted to find such a well kept and comfortable hotel.
Staff were friendly and accommodating, we were upgraded upon arrival.
Complimentary private and secure carpark which was extremely useful after a long day's drive.
Room has very big with large living area, well lit and well kept bathroom with decent hotel amenities.
Good view and central location to all main attractions, we also used Bayeux as a base to take a day trip to Mont St Michel - freeway was easily accessible and only an hr and a half drive away

Cons: hard to fault really, I guess no swimming pool or fitness centre available

Overall summary: Whilst not oozing with luxury, considering Bayeux is a small quaint town I wouldn't be surprised if this was the nicest hotel in town. Very comfortable, unbeatable location for sure, clean and overall everything you would want for your stay, would definitely stay here again!

9/10

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marriedcoupleabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

As seasoned travelers I can say that Villa Lara is one of the best hotels we have stayed at in all our travels. The property is superb with 5 star quality throughout, from the lobby to the rooms to the sheets and towels. Service is aimed to please. The location is perfect for exploring the history of DDay and the Normandy Coast. Plus the town of Bayeux is quaint and filled with history. Having thought I beat my travel agent friend to an awesome find, she informed my that she has been booking her Virtuoso clients in Villa Lara since it opened, with all giving the same feedback.

Room Tip: We also had room 106 which is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Lara for three nights in July 2013. This was our very favorite hotel from our European vacation. The room was beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable. The hotel staff members were friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. We were in room 106 which is a Jr. Suite. The bedroom had a very large king sized bed and there was a separate sitting room with a pull out sofa. There is a great view of the Bayeux cathedral from the sitting room and the small patio off the bedroom.

We had breakfast in the hotel two times. Breakfast was a nice assortment of pastries, cereal, bacon and sausage with eggs cooked to order. There are many, many wonderful restaurants within walking distance for lunch or dinner. There is also a small grocery store nearby.

I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel - I hope that we are fortunate enough to be able to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adenny_wfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Lara for six nights in July and were extremely
happy with our choice. The location is perfect - right near the semi- pedestrian
street where there are several good restaurants. The day after we arrived there
was a flea market on that street, which we enjoyed very much.

The room and bathroom were quite comfortable and luxurious, and the small balcony overlooking the square was lovely. Air conditioning was excellent and very quiet.

The staff was charming and extremely helpful. The breakfast, while not included
in our room rate, was very good, and the hotel even provided daily newspapers.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the nicest, but all rooms are probably quiet since the hotel is situated overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-explorers-350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing