We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Villa Lara was a very modern, clean, well appointed hotel. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. Loved it! Breakfast was good, but at the price for the hotel, we expected it would be included. No so, 18 euros per person so eat up.
We talked with a few other Americans who wished they had opted to stay at Villa Lara instead of their chosen hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
212
540
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in April while we were touring Normandy. The hotel was lovely and the location was terrific with the tapestry and cathedral being a short distance away. The staff had great restaurant recommendations for dinner. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very accommodating even with my husbands food allergy. We loved wandering the streets of Bayeux and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterymix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed three nights at this excellent, well run boutique hotel in bayeaux. The rooms are large and comfortable, clean and well appointed. When we booked this hotel, we received several welcoming emails from Morganna, so it was a pleasure when she greeted us at check-in. Besides the view of bayeux cathedral, the hotel is just yards from the Main Street in this lovely town, with a grocery and multiple restaurants. The hotel provides complimentary water and soda in a small refrigerator, nice new flat screen, and small touches like bright reading lights by the bed. They all speak English and even booked a car rental for us, which would have been difficult, as the only agency in town is French speaking only. Bathroom was large by European standards in our junior suite, with excellent water pressure in our large shower. Breakfast was good, and we were offered cook to order eggs every morning of our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel Villa Lara is delightful and the staff takes extra care to make your stay a special experience. They pay close attention to every detail to ensure that guests have a fabulous stay. I highly recommend the Hotel Villa Lara!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I just spent three nights at this hotel with my father while we toured Normandy and we were beyond impressed. The entire staff worked hard to make our stay comfortable and were always eager to help. The guest room was top notch. So much nicer than what you usually find in Europe. The views of the cathedral were magnificent and the rooms were large and very well appointed. I highly recommend you spend the extra money for this hotel. You will not regret it. A special note for Morgana, who went out of her way to be nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Just email them and tell them exactly what you need. There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, recently stayed two nights at the Villa Lara Hotel. The decor is beautiful and the rooms large even by American standards. The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. The staff is warm and friendly. The owners, Rema and Francois, have wonderful personalities and are gracious hosts. We greatly enjoyed their company and had many laughs with them. The hotel is conveniently located to all things in Bayeaux, including the cathedral and all the amazing restaurants, and all the Normandy sites. We cannot wait to return to the Villa Lara in the near future! A must stay for everyone visiting Normandy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant Lake, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Think of superlatives and they will be right for the Villa Lara. Exquisite decor. Attentive service. Delicious buffet breakfast -- French breads, home cooked omelets, salmon, fresh vegetables and fruits, and more. Perfect comfort in our guest room -- with designer marble fixtures in the bath, smoothly ironed sheets, soft alpaca blankets, ample closet space and windows overlooking the Bayeux Cathedral. If you want a wonderful spot from which to tour the area, choose the Villa Lara. You will have a delightful stay!

Room Tip: You might ask to overlook the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing