We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Villa Lara, Bayeux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Lara Hotel
6, Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Villa Lara, Bayeux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fabulous! We stayed at this hotel briefly in September and were overwhelmed by the ambience of the hotel as well as the service, knowledge and courtesy of the staff. The hotel is positioned centrally in Bayeux and has a secure car park. The Bayeux Tapestry Museum is a stone's throw away, the Cathedral is within easy walking distance as are all the shops and restaurants. When we returned recently for four days we were delighted to be able to book in at The Villa Lara. Anyone looking for a stylish boutique hotel which combines the latter with old fashioned charm and care should choose this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63John63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
187
465
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful, centrally located, modern hotel. The room #203 was large and had all the amenities anyone could ask for. The breakfast was good, fresh eggs made to order and the coffee strong. It has a small bar and comfortable lounge where you can have a drink and use the free wifi. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again in the future. It is located within walking distance to local shopping and museums and restuarants. The staff spoke English and were very helpful to two non-French speaking Americans.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex9078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I don't know if I can say enough good things about this hotel. We had a rental car and made a last minute decision to find a room in Bayeux. I had remembered this hotel from Tripadvisor so we decided to see if they had an available room for the night. They had a junior suite at a very reasonable price (off season). It was lovely. We immediately decided to stay a second night and ultimately decided to stay a third night. The hotel is new so everything is still very clean and fresh. Our room was very large with a sitting room that looked out over the canal and the Cathedral - really beautiful view. The bed was incredibly comfortable. We had fluffy robes and slippers, and free beverages (water and coke) from the mini bar. The bathroom was beautiful with a walk in shower and separate tub and marble finishings. We have stayed in many five star hotels and this hotel compares to them. The staff was wonderful. They made wonderful recommendations for dinner and were very kind and helpful overall. The breakfast was lovely. The location was perfect for exploring Normandy and its sites. The D-Day beaches were close by and Mont St. Michel was an easy day trip. Bayeux is absolutely wonderful. A beautiful, historic little city with a beautiful Cathedral and the Bayeux Tapestry as well as a very good D-Day museum. There are also wonderful shops and we had great dining experiences each night. We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: Loved the Junior Suite but also visited a king room and it was very nice. I think almost all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I like nice, upscale hotels, and this was by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Europe. We were offered a free upgrade to a junior suite (the hotel was not crowded on the November weekend of our visit). Had I known the suite had such a breathtaking view and sitting room, I'd have reserved it in the first place. From our glass-enclosed sitting room we could see the beautiful cathedral of Bayeux, which is bathed in light at night. The proprietor is friendly and helpful, tending to all our needs. The bar is a cozy place for a drink after sightseeing. Everything seemed quite reasonable as well (although we had just come from Paris, where the prices were sky-high).

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite with a view of the cathedral. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Comfortable beds and big rooms. Service is attentive and friendly, breakfast is complete and of decent quality. Place is new and modern. Best In Normandy! A bit pricy. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent the weekend in Bayeux, to do DDAY tour and see the area. This hotel made the weekend...it is a destination, we would go back just to stay at the hotel! The owners thought of everything in the room...I have traveled alot and like to stay at nice hotels,, Ritz's, Four Seasons, this hotel is truly 1 of the best. The Owner mets us upon arrival and she treated us like friends & family..they named the hotel after their daughter, Lara, the also own the Churchill next to the hotel. The town of Bayeux is lovely and we hope to return again, next fall. Thank You, Villa Lara, we hated leaving...look forward to seeing you next fall, Rima...next year I will get the dates correct for the Mont! Thank You

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZEBRAQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A true luxury experience. Very clean, quiet and new. Don't miss having a glass of champagne in the bar, its a great place to start the evening in this beautiful town. Hotel is a little hard to find, its down what looks like a pedestrian walkway, but other than that the rooms and ambiance are perfect for couples.

The hotel is only steps from restaurants and small shops, and a great location to take a Normandy tour, since the one we took started right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayeux
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 23 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 23 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6, Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a 4 star boutique hotel situated in the heart of the historical center of Bayeux and a few steps away from the famous tapestry. Its 28 rooms, ranging from 30 to 50 square meters, all offer a view of the 11th century cathedral. These rooms have been decorated without pretention but with all the French elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing