We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful hotel, terrific view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, terrific view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I like nice, upscale hotels, and this was by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Europe. We were offered a free upgrade to a junior suite (the hotel was not crowded on the November weekend of our visit). Had I known the suite had such a breathtaking view and sitting room, I'd have reserved it in the first place. From our glass-enclosed sitting room we could see the beautiful cathedral of Bayeux, which is bathed in light at night. The proprietor is friendly and helpful, tending to all our needs. The bar is a cozy place for a drink after sightseeing. Everything seemed quite reasonable as well (although we had just come from Paris, where the prices were sky-high).

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite with a view of the cathedral. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    46
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
194
479
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Comfortable beds and big rooms. Service is attentive and friendly, breakfast is complete and of decent quality. Place is new and modern. Best In Normandy! A bit pricy. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent the weekend in Bayeux, to do DDAY tour and see the area. This hotel made the weekend...it is a destination, we would go back just to stay at the hotel! The owners thought of everything in the room...I have traveled alot and like to stay at nice hotels,, Ritz's, Four Seasons, this hotel is truly 1 of the best. The Owner mets us upon arrival and she treated us like friends & family..they named the hotel after their daughter, Lara, the also own the Churchill next to the hotel. The town of Bayeux is lovely and we hope to return again, next fall. Thank You, Villa Lara, we hated leaving...look forward to seeing you next fall, Rima...next year I will get the dates correct for the Mont! Thank You

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZEBRAQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A true luxury experience. Very clean, quiet and new. Don't miss having a glass of champagne in the bar, its a great place to start the evening in this beautiful town. Hotel is a little hard to find, its down what looks like a pedestrian walkway, but other than that the rooms and ambiance are perfect for couples.

The hotel is only steps from restaurants and small shops, and a great location to take a Normandy tour, since the one we took started right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There is no other hotel experience we have had that comes close to the extraordinary visit with the lovely owners and staff of Villa Lara.
Rima Herbert and her husband are charming and have an eye for detail and Yuri-the most gracious fellow at the front desk treated us like royalty - helped us when our car battery failed because i forgot to shut off the day time running lights
They guided us to great restaurants - appropriate destinations to visit in the area- how to get to places - when the time is best-etc
The room was beautiful - service perfect and comfortable-not too distant
The four nights were lovely and these folks could not do more for us and it felt like home-maybe better??
As we drove away I uttered to myself -"Bye Mommy and Daddy"

You MUST go to stay with these people and experience the best hospitality in France!

Room Tip: ask for Rima
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Villa Lara hotel is a beautiful new hotel in the middle of Bayeux, right next to the Churchill Hotel and just off of the main commercial street. Just five minutes from the tapestry museum and well located to explore WWII beaches.

Rooms are large and impeccably clean, well appointed in a classic (yet updated) manner. Ours (classic double) opened onto a beautiful view of the cathedral. The bathroom was enormous by European standards, with a separate shower and bath. Clean, comfortable, just a wonderful place to stay.

The staff were equally great, very helpful and accommodating. Lovely stay, very reasonably priced -- I would definitely stay again, we stayed only two nights and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Villa Lara is a delightful place to stay when traveling to Bayeux. The accommodations are wonderful, the staff among the most attentive I have found anywhere in the world, and a breathtaking view of the cathedral. After staying three nights, we were sad to leave, but will return. Thank you to the staff for making this trip such a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WLF950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayeux
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a 4 star boutique hotel situated in the heart of the historical center of Bayeux and a few steps away from the famous tapestry. Its 28 rooms, ranging from 30 to 50 square meters, all offer a view of the 11th century cathedral. These rooms have been decorated without pretention but with all the French elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing