We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Villa Lara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Villa Lara!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Villa Lara exceeded our expectations! We had a wondeful stay there recently with our teenage sons. It is centrally located for touring the D-Day memorials. I called them several times prior to our visit and they were very kind and helpful in planning our stay. The entire staff was outstanding. The hotel itself is absolutely charming. We especially loved their breakfast. The rooms were clean, beautiful and brand new. Bayeux is a lovely town with great restaurants and sites. We highly recommend Villa Lara.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjssamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
211
533
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife followed Villa Lara on Facebook as is was being finished. We booked two rooms & from the time we arrived everything was fantastic, the owner & stall were always looking out for when you came & went. This the last 4 days of a 4 week holiday in France & it was a great finish. The rooms are big & the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Lara for just under a week in May. We had originally tried to book a room at the Churchill, but it was full. The Churchill reservations person suggested we try the Villa Lara, a hotel run by the same family, and the visit turned out well. The hotel is located on the Place du Québec, which is convenient for visiting the Bayeux Cathedral and the Bayeux Tapestry, seeing the shops downtown, or taking a walk along the Aure River. The hotel is designed so that all rooms have reasonable views.

We had a double room, and it was quite large, comparable to a double room at a good hotel in the United States. The bed was comfortable, and there was a desk, a reading chair, a large flat-screen TV, large windows, and plenty of light for reading. The room was very clean, and the housekeeping was excellent. On the negative side, I found the reading chair to be rather small (I am a big person), and there were few TV channels available, though one should not spend a vacation in France watching TV! The bathroom was very nice, with marble throughout, thick towels, excellent toiletries, and a rain forest shower. Our room did not have a bathtub, but I understand that other rooms do have tubs if that is important.

The staff were exceedingly helpful and efficient. For example, we had French friends coming to visit us, and they had some difficulty finding the hotel. The young woman at reception went outside, found our friends, and brought them to the hotel. That is service. The breakfast buffet was very good, and it included fresh bread, excellent pastries and eggs scrambled to order.

The hotel can arrange tours to Mont Saint-Michel or the D-Day beaches if desired. We would definitely stay at the Villa Lara again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bayeux Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed two nites at the Villa Lara Hotel in Bayeau.

In our opinion this was the best facility we stayed in during our 25 day trip thru Scotland, England And France.

The room size was generous with a bathroom and shower area I would like at home.

The staff was great as well.....we would highly recommend this facility to any travelers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Villa Lara last month. We were there June 17-20. We knew the hotel had just opened and expected it to be nice and it was VERY nice! We were warmly greeted and check in was fast and efficient. Our room was gorgeous and quite large. The bed was king size and extremely comfortable and the bed linens were of high quality. The bathroom was large and brightly lit and the provided toiletries were very nice. This is the only hotel I've ever stayed in that provided a free mini bar! It was wonderful to have bottled water and soda available anytime, free of charge. A really nice touch, I think. The hotel is in a central location and within walking distance of the train station. Every time we walked into the hotel or left we were warmly greeted. All of the front desk staff speak English and bent over backwards to be helpful. They made great restaurant suggestions as well! Villa Lara is a top notch hotel and I highly recommend it. Stay there -- you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffalo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
441 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa Lara for three nights in early July, having read the great reviews it has received since it opened in March 2012. Although new, the owners of this beautiful hotel clearly know what they are doing as everything here is top notch, from the gorgeous rooms with great views of the Cathedral, to the excellent breakfast to the very friendly and efficient staff. Within an hour of arriving, the receptionist (sorry but don't have her name) had secured places for us on a D Day beaches tour the next morning, when our own attempts had proved fruitless. Use of the hotel's secure private car park was a real benefit too as we didn't need to unload anything more than we needed for our stay. The Villa Lara has quickly established itself as #1 hotel in Bayeux and from the moment you walk in, you realise why. Quality is at the heart of everything you get here during your stay. A definite destination for us when we're next in Bayeux.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My sisters, brother-in-law, and parents recently traveled to Bayeux to see the D-Day sights with our father, who is a WWII vet. My sister gets all the credit for finding the elegant, but friendly, Villa Lara Hotel in Bayeux. It was such a joy to stay there for five nights and really get the feel of the hotel and the small town of Bayeux. Rema, the owner, is a wonderful host whose attention to detail makes this hotel truly memorable. She is very accessible and friendly, always available to answer our questions or just visit. The staff she has assembled is also first-rate -- we especially enjoyed Yuri and Alexander at the front desk, and all the help they gave to us. They never made us feel rushed and were of great help to us in many ways. Jacky and Julie who work serving breakfast (or just a fabulous cup of Cafe au Lait!) each morning were so pleasant and efficient. The rooms at the hotel are the finest you will find -- beautifully appointed with the highest quality sheets, towels, etc. They were impeccably cleaned each day. The view of the cathedral was so lovely and many (most?) rooms have a view of it. A truly top notch hotel that I highly recommend to anyone traveling in the Normandy area !

Room Tip: It's hard to imagine a bad room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof5denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing