We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, brand new with great French Flavor”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, brand new with great French Flavor”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Delightful hotel. We had a fabulous suite. On site parking and we can walk to many attractions of the area. We were here while the music festival was on which was very festive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pejncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
219
559
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This sister Hotel to the Churchill is within walking distance to many of the Historic Sites of Bayeau.
We had a very large suite with fabulous amenities. The staff was most helpful with suggestions for restaurants. We were here on the 21st of June when the town has a musical festival in the streets. A very festive occasion. There is free parking and free wifi. Very well decorated with the traditions of France well represented.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pejncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

New hotel associated with the Venerable Churchill. Incredible mix of French style and every modern convenience. Staff is impeccable. Best room I've ever experienced!

Room Tip: We were in room 307, cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Localmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, new European Hotel located in the center of town. Fabulous breakfast. Staff aims to please. Do not stay anywhere else!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Igiveuponthisdumbname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I've ever had. From the moment we walked in, and the person at the desk looked up and greeted us by name because they were expecting us, we were treated with such kindness and received wonderful service. My husband and I were upgraded to a junior suite, with a balcony overlooking the castle, and our daughters had a gorgeous room of their own. Really, they thought of everything... the bathroom was large & luxurious and had top-notch toiletries, the mini-bar was complimentary, and the bed was perhaps the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever experienced (or perhaps I was just that exhausted!) One evening, we returned after sightseeing all day and decided we were too tired to go for dinner and opted for pizza in the room (the suite had plenty of room/chairs for the four of us). When the lobby staff saw my husband coming in with pizzas and wine, they jumped up to help him and immediately sent up plates, wine glasses, napkins, etc. Special thanks to the Mont St. Michel shuttle driver, Francois, for his above-and-beyond help in guiding my husband to the Hertz rental car office in Caen also. If we are ever in Normandy again, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral...stunning when lit up at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful stay in Bayeux do check out this wonderful 28-room hotel. You will feel the warmth the moment you walk through the door! The employees are wonderful and you will see the owner on a daily basis. The rooms are really good size and the beds were great! And the best part is that a King size bed is really a King size bed. The hotel is just a couple of months old and is already rated 4-stars. Our stay was from May 31, 2012 until June 2, 1012.

Room Tip: spend a little more and get a wonderful room with a view towards the park and cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I booked the Villa Lara sight unseen over a year ago when it was still under construction. My group of 18 people trusted me and I placed my trust in the owner, Rima Hébert. She and her outstanding staff delivered as promised. We could not have been happier.

The Villa Lara is in central Bayeux and in walking distance to all sorts of dining options as well as the main tourist sights. The Bayeux Tapistry Museum is actually not more than 100 steps away from the front door. And the Cathedral is only a block away.

Beautiful, spacious rooms with fantastic bathrooms. Complimentary bottled water and wifi. Breakfast was plentiful with eggs cooked to order.

An outstanding find. All 18 in my group complimented me on this 4-star find. Rima and her staff deserve the compliments. Thanks for a wonderful three-night stay!

Room Tip: All rooms in this hotel are exceptional and very quiet. There is zero street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing