We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Bayeux for a drink!”
Review of Le Conquerant

Le Conquerant
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As Marc Fortier is french & his wife Dara is Irish, that makes for a warm welcome in french and english! Our aim is to give a friendly welcome whilst providing simple but good food & drinks at reasonable prices! Our food menu includes - FISH & CHIPS, hamburgers, fresh sandwiches, omelettes, homemade soup, toasted sandwiches, salads, & for those missing them - hot dogs! We also have a tasty choice of crepes, waffles & warm chocolate cake ..To drink, we have the treasured produce of Normandys apples.. apple juice, cider, Pommeau & Calvados. We also have the goodness of Guinness- of course!To quench your thirst further, we have a wide range of fruit juices, sodas, mineral water & very good coffee !! Food & drink service continues all through the day, so if you'd like a tasty omelette at 11.30Am or 5pm - yes we can ! Just follow the signs for the main entrance to the Bayeux Tapestry, we're the red building just opposite ! We look forward to welcoming you : ) Marc et Dara :)
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Best place in Bayeux for a drink!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a definite place to go to while in Bayeux! The owners are Irish and French and are the nicest people in town! It is more of a local hang out than a tourist place, so I got to know a couple of the locals who even took me to other places when Le Conquerant shut down!
They speak English there, which was nice since I don't really know that much French! They have a smaller selection on their menu, so you might want to get dinner somewhere else, but their menu is great after you've had a couple of drinks!
The atmosphere is great! There is inside and outside seating. I chose to sit at the bar and talk to the locals, who were brilliant!
This is a must when going to Bayeux!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scooter1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    64
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back Tuesday”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our party of 24 were warmly welcomed at Le Conquerant on our recent visit to Bayeux and the Normandy Battlefields. We stopped at the bar/restuarant for lunch and to watch the British and Irish Lions final test match on July 6th. Marc and Dara were extremely helpful and the food was well priced and excellent. The owners Marc and Dara interacted well with the group and showed humour and patience. The location of the bar/restaurant was exceptional, very close to the coach and car park and a step away from the historic centre of Bayeux and the Museum of the Tapestry.
We had communicated by email prior to the visit and all the arrangements were superb. Diirections for our coach driver were excellent and the owners were on the door to welcome us on arrival.I would highly recommend this venue and would certaily go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I WAS IN HEAVEN”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Whilst filming the D-Day Beaches and British Cemeteries for battlefieldvideo.com i had the chance to visit Le Conquerant Pub, wow! I had previously spent a week on the Landing Beaches and had been sampling fantastic french cuisine, but, the Guinness and fish and chips that i had that day was heavenly. It is most certainly the best Guinness outside of Ireland, and as for the traditional fish and chips, well, it was simply outstanding. All prices are very reasonable indeed, i only wished i could have stayed much longer than the few hours that i did.
I will most certainly be returning

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Owners”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in the area on a tour of the WWII sites when we found this place here on tripadvisor. The owners are hilarious and very accommodating to Americans provided you make an attempt to speak French. The food is similar to American food as I had a hot dog and fries.

The food is good, the price is good and the owners are great. If you want a little taste of American food and a relaxing setting, this is the place for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkoz148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta GA
Level Contributor
637 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice little pub very close to tapestry museum and center of Bayeux. Prices are affordable. The menu is typical pub fare, with French influence. All the food was very tasty. A plus is that the owners speak excellent english- a nice change for the French countryside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Conquerant also viewed

 

Been to Le Conquerant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing