We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel d'Argouges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveler rating
883
410
72
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
410
72
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotellovely gardenno elevatorwine and cheesemain buildingmodern bathroomoff street parkingd day beachesprivate parkingthe hotel stafffrench hotelwithin walking distancebayeux tapestryfree parkingnormandy beachestop floorstaff was very friendly and helpful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were very happy with the location of the hotel and the three young people who managed the hotel were absolutely delightful and most helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom had been nicely updated. Breakfasts were also full, reasonably priced and very fresh. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: we had one at the end of the corridor facing the garden
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a great alternative to Ouistream this is as a place to stay before catching the ferry. Ferry is only 40 minutes about an hour away and if you use the back roads it a pleasant route. Bayeaux is also great for exploring and has nice places to eat - even on a sunday.
Back to the hotel. As usual we did not book and aftyer a frustrating coastal drive in traffic we dipped inland to bayeaux. We drove round bayeux and spotted this lovely building through the arched entrance. Beautiful chandaliers attract you in and the owners/managers - a very nice couple made us very welcome. We chose an old fashioned but very comfortable garden view room that had a really nice modern bathroom. The garden I think could be made better use of. Might be nice in summer when the roses are out but I would not over enthuse about it in march.
As the hotel has no restaurant the owner recommended a really nice place a few doors away.
Breakfast was great in a really well restored period room with mouldings/high ceilings etc. The waitress offered eggs but we were happy with the cereals and pastries and nice coffee.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe do not pay extra for a garden view room in winter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We tried to book other hotels before finally finding a room here. It is centrally located, pretty chateaux. We stayed in the annexe running up to the main building. Room was a good size, shower room a disappointment. We had just come from a b&b that met our expectations so a hotel at huge increase in price would surely reflect the price somewhere? The towels were very poor in deed, shower head needed attention. Bed was comfortable but we were expecting to sleep in an old chateaux not top floor side annexe with little or no character. Staff were very helpful. We ate out and Bayeux has many fine eateries to offer. Breakfast was a massive disappointment, extra in price, poor quality yoghurt, bread that had been cut so almost stale, packet jams, butter - really should be better. We went out the following morning and had a much better breakfast! A wasted opportunity!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dargouges, Gérant at Hotel d'Argouges, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. As we were not aware of the negative points encountered during your stay, such as the shower room and our buffet breakfast, we thank you for bringing them to our attention and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience they caused.

All our bathrooms are modern and well equipped. Towels are frequently changed and selected for their quality. It is the first time that we have a complaint on these points but you can be assured that we take it extremly seriously and we regret, once again, the inconvenience.

Regarding our buffet breakfast, we are sorry that it displeased you. We take into account the remarks of our customers to improve us constantly. That is why we have made several improvements this year on the quality and on the choice of the products which we propose.


Thank you to have stayed at the Hotel d'Argouges.

We remain available to answer any questions you might have.

Xavier
Hôtel d'Argouges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

On our recent trip to France & Italy we were looking to stay in hotels that had local charm and offered an authentic local experience, rather than staying in chain hotels that reminded us of home. The Hotel d'Argouges fairly oozes French charm and we really enjoyed our short stay.

Highlights included: A beautiful room and a beautifully appointed modern bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, good breakfast, gorgeous grounds. A very attentive staff. They were a proper and more formal friendly, rather than a casual and familiar friendly. But still very warm.

Worth mentioning: I suppose it's theoretically walkable from the train station, but we took a cab and were glad we did. (We arrived after 8:00 p.m., and weren't comfortable walking that far in the dark through an unfamiliar city). The choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel in the evening was a bit thin. No air conditioning in this historic building.

If we're ever lucky enough to return to Normandy, we'd happily stay again at the Hotel d'Argouges.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Beautiful European hotel in at least three buildings. We stayed in the building facing the garden. There are drinks and sandwiches available for order in the garden of the main building. Breakfast is grand in a lovely room. Lots of history in this Hotel. Great location in the heart of Bayeux. We were on the top floor with no elevator so pack light!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pissaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews