We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, Wonderful Staff”
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel d'Argouges
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, lovely surroundings, pretty public rooms. We had a fine breakfast there every morning. The staff is very helpful, everyone speaks English. The hotel is in the middle of Bayeux, in walking distance to almost every thing. They have a policy that you can't bring your own food or beverages to sit in the yard. That's too bad, but we did have a glass of wine back there anyway. We were there in mid April, and the weather was very nice for that time of year. Just the same, it must be really lovely in Summer.

Room Tip: Our room had two double beds (It was my daughter and I) in the main building, in the front. I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a night at Hotel d'Argouges as part of our visit to the D-Day sites in Normandy. It is like going back in time. The service was excellent and very friendly to Americans with fluent English and loads of help and suggestions. Rooms were spacious and the bathroom was clean and neat. WiFi is included but offers only one connection per room. Breakfast was wonderfully French with soft boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, juice,coffee, etc.

Bayeux is a wonderful community. People were friendly and food was excellent. Le Pommeier, while a little pricey was simply an outstanding restaurant, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Hotel d'Argouges is well located off a lovely plaza that was hosting the weekly market when we arrived. The main building is charming, with a lovely garden. Breakfast is served in a high-ceilinged dining room with windows overlooking the garden. Our room was in an annex building which does not have the same charm. The room was pleasant, although small and basic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After driving around the D-day beaches, we were lucky to find a vacancy at this inn. And it turned out so well. A former Duke's townhouse, parking was secure and the room was comfortable and clean. We were in the other building and it was so pretty, I took a photo. The breakfast next morning was good. Nearby restaurant had a delicious evening meal.

Room Tip: We were lucky,but you should call and reserve. There are lots of tourists and it is more crowded in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo-NewRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The main road frontage of this hotel is deceptive - just a narrow entrance & driveway - then it opens out to be a beautiful old house. We had a very comfortable and quiet room, yet the hotel is in the main street of Bayeux. Easy & safe parking for the Barchetta.

The staff were friendly & always very helpful. Super breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid_Severn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with friends. The hotel is perfectly situated in the town, set back with a nice garden. It is very clean, comfortable beds and good bathrooms, quiet location and the staff are attentive and smile. Bayeux is ideally situated to explore the places of interest for the Normandy WW2. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Right in the middle of town this hotel sits which makes for a very good location to be for visiting the Normandy area. I would suggest that you make sure your reservation is in the MAIN hotel and not the hotel in the back... We were stuck in the back which makes it difficult to go for breakfast or to get ice... this area out back seems like an after-thought. Lots of stairs so it is difficult with luggage as there is NO elevator. Rooms are Paris size and hardly any room for luggage to store. Bathroom seems to have been remodeled. I would recommend this hotel but only in the MAIN hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing