We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get away from city bustle in their lovely garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel d'Argouges
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Mass.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Get away from city bustle in their lovely garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Lovely building with a delightful garden out back. Our room was one flight up the narrow stairs -- small, but clean and adequate. We enjoyed a bottle of wine and a cheese plate at a table in the garden, so restful after a day of touring. Yet the hotel is a few steps from restaurants and the main sites in Bayeux.

We discovered a coin laundry almost across the street (convenient if you've been traveling for more than a week!). When we asked the proprietress where we might find change so early in the morning (few shops were open), she went to all the staff to beg for change for us -- so helpful!

There are a few things to be aware of: they have parking but do charge 5 euros for it, they offer breakfast but do charge for it, they have a lovely garden to sit in but you must buy food and drink from them. Still, if we're in Bayeux again, we'd stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor (one flight up) were fine, but if there are rooms on the second floor (atti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel d'Argouges, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your visit in our hotel
I shall just want to specify you that all the price are indicated well on the reservation : room, breakfast and parking as you can look on your reservation.
We never charge a guest if we specify "included", I think it's that it is a misunderstanding and I regret it.
I hope to meet you in the futur.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    364
    67
    15
    6
See reviews for
329
583
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We called at this hotel and asked for a double room. They didn't have one but there wasa suite for E360.00. When we said this was too expensive they dropped the price to E160.00. The stairs are steep and the corridors narrow. This is a lesson in not taking in too much luggage. What we received was not a suite as we know but two bedrooms with a connecting They only had to close and lock the connecting door and it would have been an average double room.The furnishings were average and compared to other hotels we have stayed at too expensive at E160.
The parking was good, surroundings lovely and the location was great.
Breakfast was very good with great selection.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the rear garden and were happy with the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,Ct
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice hotel..but they nickel and dime..5 euros to park, ,12 euros for a croissant breakfast,every time you turn they add something on...it gets old...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel d'Argouges is a lovely, family run hotel located right in the charming town of Bayeux. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable and the the staff was very kind and helpful. We stayed in the family apartment, which is two separate bedrooms, connected by a foyer and bathroom. This was the perfect spot for our family as we toured the DDay beaches for a few days. The breakfast was great - baguettes, croissants, pan au chocolat, eggs, yogurt, fruit, etc. As with many hotels in Europe, this hotel only had the deep bathtub with the hand held shower faucet.

The location of the hotel was great for touring the DDay beaches and the American cemetery. We also took a day trip to Mont St. Michel which was about a 1 hour 45 minute drive each way. You definitely need a car to tour this area and Hotel d'Argouges has a very large parking lot directly behind the hotel, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
657 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I initially was feeling very good about Hotel d'Argouges: it's really lovely on the outside, has convenient parking behind the building, and a beautiful garden out back. But the stairs and halls were steep and narrow, and the room was microscopic (and no, I don't usually complain about undersized European hotel rooms but this was much worse than usual). Plus the hotel had put the bathroom lights on a motion sensor to save money. Except that in such confined quarters (1) the bathroom light went on whenever I rolled over in bed and (2) the motion sensor could not detect the presence of a person in the closed shower stall, so the lights kept turning off while I was in the shower! The location is so-so -- if the weather is good, it's a nice 15 minute walk to the sights, but if it's raining, it's unpleasantly far. Breakfast is served in a gloriously decorated old room, and the buffet choices are fine, if not outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel d' Argouges on a recent trip through Europe and found it to be a wonderful, relaxing place to stay. Bayeux is a great place to explore the Normandy area, and this hotel is a gem that is right in the middle of of it. The hotel is basically a rather large house that has been converted into a small, boutique style hotel, full of charm and hospitality. The staff was absolutely terrific and made our stay very pleasant. My favorite thing about this hotel, and there are many, is the very peaceful garden area in the rear of the property. It was a great location to start your day with a cup of coffee or to end it with a beer or a glass of French wine. This is not your run of the mill hotel; it is much, much more. I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: We had the quad room overlooking the garden. Our traveling partners had a double overlooking the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I adore this hotel. I have been to Normandy four times and am going again this fall. I have visited the other Bayeux hotels but have stayed at Hotel D'Argouges every time. I am going again this September with 5 friends and we are all staying here. It is comfortable, clean, located very nicely with access to shopping and restaurants. The staff could not be nicer and more helpful. I read the review about the heating and laughed myself silly. All she had to do was turn the knob to get heat. I personally have been at all different times and have always been comfortable. They have remodeled the bathrooms and they are as nice as any I have stayed in anywhere in France. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary0211520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Property: Hotel d'Argouges
Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing