We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

D-Day Historian - Paul Woodadge
Ranked #7 of 38 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours of the D-Day beaches and battlefields of Normandy for history-buffs and passionate travellers who want a detailed look at the historical areas, visiting not just the famous sites, but places off the beaten path that are often overlooked. Paul Woodadge is also an author and military consultant for TV shows and projects about the DDay landings and battle of Normandy.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our three days touring with Paul were outstanding. Paul's tours are carefully crafted so that he makes the story of the Normandy invasion come to life. His knowledge is immense--he has met so many of the participants, and seems to have read every source available. His focus on the personal stories of these brave men brought it all very much to life for me.
Even the time in the van between stops was edifying. Paul has a good sense of humor--his entertaining stories, even about being a Brit living in France, made for fun diversions. We left with a list of film recommendations about the period which we enjoyed for many weeks after our return to the U.S.
My husband and I enjoyed every minute--it was exhaustive, but not exhausting. We highly recommend anyone wanting to see this historic, important place travel with Paul Woodadge, D-Day Historian.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We did two tours with Paul, the two day American tour plus the Band of Brothers tour.

We had read so many excellent reviews of Pauls tours on Tripadvisor, we did wonder if we would be disappointed.

As it turned out we enjoyed every minute we spent with Paul, the time just flew by. Pauls knowledge of the area is second to none and he has the knack of making each person on the tour feel special.

I am finding it hard to write anything that has not been written before. Maybe the best recommendation I can give is to say the next time we are in Europe, we will do the two tours again with Paul,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mejele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Bees
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History Coming to Life!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked our tour with DDay Historian (Paul Woodadge) on the advice of another couple that is also historical buffs. Having heard multiple stories of disappointment from those who had booked with the large tour companies, we did not want to make the same mistake. We contacted Paul early and were able to book our exact dates in October.

Our tour was intimate and exactly what we had hoped for, reliving the events of Normandy, first through Paul's two-day American Tour, followed up with his one-day Band of Brothers Tour. Paul conducted the tours in small private groups, where we experienced places that the "Super-Bus" tours simply could not drive. Our three days were active, in the field, close up with the locations that we had only read about or seen in the movies.

What made our experience exceptional was the passion and in-depth knowledge that Paul brings to his craft. Paul is not reciting lines from a guidebook; he has deeply researched, lived, written about and interviewed those men who landed upon the beaches of Normandy. You are transported back to D-Day on a personal level as you listen to the stories of the individuals in the exact location where it all happened.

We have toured a lot in Europe, our experience at D-Day Historian was absolutely a pleasure and well worth the three-day investment of our holiday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieAiredale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best Tour Guide We've Ever Had!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Paul was absolutely fantastic during our 2-day tour. He goes to great lengths to ensure everyone comes away with a rich and detailed understanding of the Normandy invasion, with many unforgettable vignettes on individual participants. He pours everything he's got into the time together, and spares no amount of energy or dialogue to ensure a memorable experience. He is an accomplished historian in his own right, and can easily satisfy those in search of important but less well known details. I would most strongly recommend Paul's tour to anyone in search of the best---he will not let you down!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank D503URTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“A fantastic three days”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I consider myself a student of the Normandy campaign and I was not prepared for the wealth of information which Paul has regarding the battle. His knowledge of the ground is superb. His knowledge of the battle even better. On top of this he is a wonderfully personable guy. If you are nervous about those with little knowledge being 'lost' or not being interested, never fear! Everyone on our tour absolutely raved about the tour. This is truly a must for seeing and experiencing the Normandy campaign!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichH291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-Day Historian - Paul Woodadge also viewed

 

Been to D-Day Historian - Paul Woodadge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing