We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but in need of upgrades”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, but in need of upgrades”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Le Lion d'Or for two nights. We chose Bayeux for its proximity to the D-Day Beaches, and we loved the town. We had reserved parking at the hotel for our car, and when we arrived we were happy to find the space was easily seen with our name clearly marked. The owners were very accommodating and helpful; couldn't have been nicer. That being said, the hotel itself is tired and in need of updating. There is a musty smell throughout, especially in the hallways. The sheets and towels are old and frayed, but they are clean. The bed was very comfortable and we had no issues with noise. There is a comfortable bar in the hotel which would be lovely to relax in, but it was not staffed either night we were there - the man at the front desk had to leave the desk to come and help us with our drinks. As others have mentioned, WiFi was spotty at best, and there are no elevators. Be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs to your room! Of the five hotels we stayed at during our vacation, this one ranks at the bottom of the list - but with some updates it has the potential to be terrific.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyGNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    291
    97
    32
    14
See reviews for
131
372
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

On our recent two month trip to Europe and after staying in 28 hotels Le Lion d'Or has remained near the bottom of the list. Despite the reception person's protestations to the contrary, the "free" WiFi which was one of our reasons for staying here didn't work anywhere in the hotel (two iPads & a laptop). Had to carry our bags up massive flights of stairs. Room quite ordinary, but sleep quality was reasonable. The dining room was disastrously slow with service and we waited and waited for a very ordinary meal. Luckily there was a basket of bread on a side table near us which we helped ourselves to, until it was whipped away. The hotel accommodates cycle tours and these are rather noisy. Breakfast was the typical continental style with meats and I was happy to be able to cook a soft boiled egg.

Room Tip: All rooms are reasonably quiet as the courtyard muffles road sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Lion D'Or has been our favourite hotel in Normandy for some 20 years.

Alexandre and Aline Matyja took over the Hotel six months ago and have already refurbished and modernised the dining room, added some very interesting dishes to their menus, together with adding some exciting new wines to their cellar.

All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere in the Hotel reflects Alexandre and Aline's enthusiasm to make the Lion D'Or " numero uno " in Basse Nornandie

Room Tip: Room15, if you are lucky enough to can get it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in September 2013 while touring the D Day beaches nearby. Bayeux is very charming and so is this hotel. It was exciting to think that Dwight Eisenhower stayed here during the war. When we made our reservation we asked for a first floor room but we were given a room up two flights of stairs. Part of the problem may have been that at the time of booking we were not aware of the way French hotels label the floors. We tried the breakfast offered the first day hoping for a freshly made omelet, but alas, I had to cook my own soft boiled egg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnurse72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in early October as part of a Normandy tour. The location is great and the staff could not be nicer. The place is charming but it is in need of some upgrades. The WiFi is very volatile. The restaurant and bar are nice but understaffed. (The bar is advertised as open until 10 but we found it usually open but unstaffed - we had to go flag a waiter from the dining restaurant to get a drink).

The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious on the European scale.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while touring Normandy. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area of Bayeux, as well as the train station. Upon arrival, the friendly staff checked me in and escorted me to my room. The hotel and room were old. The décor might not have been changed since WWII. There is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. I found the bed to be adequate, if not great. Overall, my stay was OK and value was decent given location and staff friendliness.

Room Tip: Pick a lower floor if given a choice. No elevator at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grvdggr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Started our holiday in Normandy and Brittany here. Great location right in the centre of the very charming town. Hop and skip to the tapestry and cathedral. We had a room on the ground floor - the Margot Room - which was effectively a small suite. Extremely comfortable, private and quiet. One tip: if driving, definitely book a parking space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarwiggleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Property: Le Lion d'Or
Address: 71 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing