We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Experience Normandy Tours

Experience Normandy Tours
Ranked #24 of 36 Tours in Bayeux
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours of the D-Day landing beaches and other points of interest in Normandy
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our group of six toured the D-Day sites with Eva. She had an amazing amount of knowledge about WWII and gave us a wonderful day filled with information. She even made sure we got to the American cemetery at the right time so a member of our group who is a veteran could participate in the flag folding ceremony. We would definitely recommend Eva to anyone who is traveling to Normandy and wants a great day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PamD8820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Viejo, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked Eva based on a recommendation from another tour guide and her TripAdvisor rating. We found her pleasant, knowledgeable, matter of fact, energetic, and easy to follow. We wanted to go to Pont du Hoc to see where Col Rudder landed (my husband is a Texas Aggie), and she thoroughly explained the plan, the problems with the landing, what happened, what they did after securing Pont du Hoc, and on and on. She was very thorough and patient with all our questions. We moved on to other sights and one of the cemeteries, spending a total of 4 hours with her. She told us about the German cemetery, so we added that to our afternoon itinerary which we did on our own. I found her delightful and will recommend her to anyone who asks for my advice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“EXCEPTIONAL Tour!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I have done extensive research of both the D-Day invasion and finding a tour of the D-Day sites. We found Eva to be an exceptional tour guide! She provided detailed answeres to EVERY tactical and historical question we sent her way and catered our tour to specific locations we requested to visit.

Eva truly painted a full picture of D-Day; from the history leading up to World War II to the actual invasion and aftermath. We were both very impressed with Eva's knowledge and also enjoyed her warm personality. She was also very generous with taking many pictures for us, directing us around Bayeux, and translating our limited French.

In short, I could not disagree with the previous negative review more. We went into the tour with extremely high expectations and Eva certainly did not disappoint. Her tour was the highlight of a 10-day European trip and we look forward to returning to Normandy with family member to experience the tour again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindsayDR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked a day with Eva Ruttger because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor - and were let down by those reviews for the first time ever !

Let me start with the positive: Booking with Eva is easy and efficient, she is a likable young woman , knows a couple of places (especially in the US airborne sector) you would not find easily on your own and her folder has a couple of very interesting tactical maps and photos.

For those that have done their own reading about the events of June 44, Eva offers little. Having no formal education in history or military, Eva's knowledge remains on a "Wkipedia" level - at best of times.

Realising these shortcomings, we decided to cut short our time on the beaches and use the afternoon for an exploration of the medieval city of Bayeux - Eva Ruttgers offers this on her website as well.

This was the real disappointment: Apart from showing us the way to the cathedral and the tapestry museum (you really do not need a guide for this !), Eva seemed to have no idea, what to show/tell us about Bayeux (despite her living in that charming town for many years now) and we had to "extract" any information very painfully from her - if it was at all forthcoming.

In a nutshell: I have no idea why you should book Eva Ruttger's tour: If you are really interested in the military/historic details of D-day look for a guy with a military background. If you are interested in the medieval history of Normandy, Eva has nothing to offer and if you just want "to do" the D-Day beaches in a few hours, book with one of the large tour operators and spent the money you save on a nice French meal !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Austrian_Traveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun and Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Eva was a fantastic guide! We met her at the Bayeux train station and enjoyed a day learning about the Normandy coast, D-day history, and even the Bayeux Tapestry. She allowed us to customize the tour (family of 4 with teens) which was great. We appreciated her flexibility! She highlighted interesting tidbits at each stop along the way, even allowing us to stop at a local farm to sample the calvados. With her assistance, we located a family member who fought in the Omaha Beach invasion at the American cemetery. This was an added bonus. Overall, she helped make our time in France, especially Normandy, very memorable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATLTravelBug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience Normandy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Experience Normandy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing