We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Comfortable but basic room. Breakfast choices limited and because the big groups raided the food in the part reserved for private guests, things ran out very quickly. Excellent location and good parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    274
    119
    28
    5
See reviews for
194
172
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here as part of a trip through France. At first glance this is not a great hotel, but once inside it's not bad at all. The rooms are of good size and have very comfortable beds and are very quiet. I especially like the toilet being outside of the main bedroom area in a separate lobby. The hotel is very convenient for town, the sites and the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We generally use Novatel hotels because they have a reasonable standard and value. This is an exception though. The staff were friendly enough and 1st impressions after arriving in reception is good. However, the room are very basic and in need of a good refurbishment. We didn't eat there but chose the centre of town instead which is pleasant. It's conveniently located for D Day beaches and memorials. I wouldn't stay here again, very disappointed and poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We used the Novotel for the base of our exploration of the D-Day beaches.

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. We were able to easily walk to the village center.

Also there is a grocery store within walking distance.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a Battlefield tour with specific reference to D Day Commemoration. Location is handy to Omaha Beach & USA Cemetery. Check-in pre arranged, was fast & efficient. Room was comfortable but had a strange setup with a door between the toilet/wardrobe foyer and the bedroom. Toilet was separate and difficult to enter and shut the door, much like an aircraft toilet and about the same size. Shower over the deep bath would be a problem for people who are unsteady or with balance issues. Room safe & free slow Wi-Fi inc. charge for fast Wi-Fi. Meal was a fixed menu and was bland and un interesting, except for desert. Breakfast menu had an acceptable range of typical hot & cold selections. No Espresso coffee! Room decor is dated & a bit shabby.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Nice chain hotel that appeared to be well cared for and maintained and cleaned well. Close to the battle beaches which was our main concern. Very convenient to get too and an easy walk into the heart of Bayeux. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back to Cherbourg from Paris. It is a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was the best of all 5 hotels we stayed in this trip. We also had dinner in the hotel as we were too tired to go out and the food was terrific. I would definately recommend this hotel. It is about a15 minutes walk from town, but go on we all need to take more exercise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Property: Novotel Bayeux
Address: 117 rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 Miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include free car park, swimming pool and landscaped. LED TV 40 "with 50 channels including BE IN SPORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing