We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy accommodation close to town centre”
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Comfy accommodation close to town centre”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Novotel Bayeux is a spacious older motel at the end of the high street.
The rooms and the en-suite are generously sized and the bed were in good condition.
Breakfast was a choice of continental or american.
There is plenty of car parking at the front of the motel.
The city centre is a leisurely 10 minute stroll on a level road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    299
    133
    32
    5
See reviews for
206
201
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ended up in Bayeux from Paris without any real plans. We had the taxi driver drop us off at a hotel from the train station and we ended up here! The hotel was very nice, modern and big (especially compared to Paris!). The hotel is kind of on the edge of town, but we walked into "downtown" multiple times which took about 10 min. The staff was extremely helpful and made our stay worth it. They helped us set up a DDay tour that picked us up right from the hotel. We also had no preconceived notions on Bayeux, but loved the town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nrusche10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting Normandy after a Cosmos tour. The front desk staff made an excellent effort to speak English, from the time I called from the train station to get a taxi to the time we left the next morning. What a difference from Paris! The room had our first queen bed since arriving in Europe and that was also a big plus. The room was also spacious and very clean.

The hotel is convenient to many local attractions including the Monument of the Liberation, the British Monument, the British cemetery, the Memorial Museum of the Battle of Normandy, the Bayeux Cathedral and the Bayeux Tapestry. There is no shortage of nice restaurants located on most of the main and side streets. Tours can be arranged to take advantage of your time while visiting the Normandy area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60HzMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very clean, modern type hotel. On par with a nice Fairfield Inn or Holiday Inn Express in U.S. Nice bed and bath facilities. Helpful and courteous staff. All in all good value for the price. Didn't eat at the restaurant since we were looking for something in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can normally be quite scathing of Novotel. But we had a good stay here.

I paid about £70.00 per night for a superior room and I booked through the Accor hotels website. The room was fine and the staff where helpful, good English was spoken by all the staff we encountered. I think this is down to the Normandy area having a lot of Brit and US visitors.

The Breakfast was okay and was 15.00 Euros per adult. You could also choose to have an "express" breakfast in the bar area for 8 Euros per adult. I will say no more on the food prices!

The hotel is in a good location for most needs; it is situated on the edge of a large roundabout (traffic circle for you guys across the pond) and will take you about 15/30 minutes to walk in to the town centre depending on your fitness. The town is a pretty place and does get a lot of visitor due to the Bayeux tapestry and the D-Day sites. For those needing a supermarket to fill up the car or get supplies from - Bayeux has large ELeclerc and Carrefour hypermarkets to name a few for your convenience, the ELeclerc is next to the British war cemetery.

This hotel provided what we needed for our stay in the Bayeux/Normandy area. Most of the guests I would say were older Americans on organised tours and us keeping the "British stiff upper lip" going to ensure the place didn't end up like a Wild West saloon bar (only kidding). We only had three days in Normandy so this central location was really a good base for a small family. You can be in Carentan or Caen in 30 min. Omaha, Pont du Hoc are 20 min by car and Utah beach which is beautiful is just a bit further; all the Brit Invasion beaches and D-Day objectives are about 10 to 30 min by car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daztheworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel with average rooms at the edge of downtown Bayeux. While walk to restaurants, Cathedral and shopping is certainly within reach, it is about 1/2 mile or more. The walk is flat, but if one has ambulatory issues, it it is probably too far. The pool at the hotel looks nice, but it was too cool to take advantage of it during our stay. The bar in the lobby is okay as is the restaurant.

Room Tip: walk to British cemetery nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for a visit to Bayeux and the D-Day landing beaches. On the north edge of town, yet close enough to walk in for your morning croissant, you'll be at the beaches in less than 30 minutes.

The rooms are larger than standard for European hotels and have tea kettles, hair dryers and a small fridge. The bathrooms are modern and efficient. There was no electric plug in our bathroom but my wife carries an extension cord for her curling iron since the majority of hotels seem to not have plugs near a mirror.

The wifi was sufficient for surfing the web and emailing but not for VOIP calls. For a small fee you can upgrade from the free service for faster connections. The TV has BBC for your english-speaking enjoyment. The free parking is a plus.

The restaurant is OK but there are several restaurants nearby (10-15 minute walk) that are much better. It was raining when we were here this trip so we chose to eat in. When in doubt, order an omelet and frites (french fries). The bar in the lobby offers espresso in the morning and breakfast is available in the restaurant.

We've stayed here before and will stay here next time. It's a consistently good value in a good location. We've never had a noise problem with this hotel despite it's proximity to a roundabout and a football stadium.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rexaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
1.0 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Property: Novotel Bayeux
Address: 117 rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayeux
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 Miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include free car park, swimming pool and landscaped. LED TV 40 "with 50 channels including BE IN SPORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing