We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, with Incredible Breakfast!”
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable, with Incredible Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The room was spacious enough for our family of four to be comfortable. The carpet and comforter had a few years of dirt stained into them, but the sheets and linens were clean. The bathtub had this strange glass door that only enclosed half of it, so it was impossible to not get the floor wet when showering, and the towels hung at the foot of the tub, so we had to be careful to not get them wet, also.

Air conditioning does not seem to be a big part of European culture, but this room had one of the better ones out of the three hotels in which we stayed. It cooled the room down to a comfortable temperature by about 03:00 or so each night.

The breakfast each morning was the best I can remember in my brief 45 years on this planet, and the reason I rated this hotel a four and not a three! I'm a picky eater (hated the food in London, couldn't find much in France that I liked), but I woke up each morning looking forward to breakfast downstairs. Several different brands and flavors of yogurt, a couple of different cold cereals, Belgian waffles (a kind that were sold in the U.S. at Costco for a few months that I loved and haven't been able to find for over 12 years), crepes, fresh fruit, eggs, fruit juice, and several other breakfast foods.

The staff was very helpful and polite, as well as very patient with our lack of French-speaking ability. The hotel is located on the very edge of the west side of town, which made it a good place which to begin my exploration of Normandy battle sites. It's about a twenty minute drive from Omaha Beach and 40-45 minutes from Utah Beach.

The hotel does not have on-site laundry facilities, and the service with which they contract is ridiculously expensive (three euro for one pair of socks, and seven for a pair of pants!), but it's only a five minute drive from a lavomatique (that's a laundromat, for my fellow Americans) in the center of town around the corner from the tourism office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETO_Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    302
    133
    33
    5
See reviews for
209
202
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We chose this hotel based on written reviews, but it didn't even live up to the low expectations we had coming in. We asked for a non-smoking room, but got a smoking one. It was smelly, and had a separate, tiny water closet from the sink and shower (and I mean tiny). The bath had no hot water. When we asked for advice on how to get to the Normandy beaches, they said there was no bus. This was false. There was no bus on Sunday, we were there, but it was still operating out of Caen. So instead, we got milked for 58 Euro for a cab. Luckily, the people at Juno Beach knew better and sent us back by way of the Caen bus, and the train from Caen to Bayeux (around 6.8 Euro since we had a train pass).

We plan to visit Normandy again for an extended stay (2-4 days), but we will NOT stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJasonMacNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here just one night in June as a base for visiting Bayeux and Normandy. Good location and easy free parking. Room and modern bathroom were clean and the bed was comfortable. Although it is possible to walk into town I think it would be a fairly long walk depending on what part of the town you wanted to visit. It was raining when we visited so we drove as we had access to our rental car. Did not eat here so I cannot comment but Bayeux has enough restaurants to choose from. Room was quite large compared to some others we’ve had in Europe. Although just off a roundabout it was quiet so don’t let the location concern you. I wanted heat as it was a cool late spring evening but only A/C was available so the desk staff was very helpful in providing an additional comforter. My only complaint is that almost all of the lights were CFLs which had a harsh white light. I use CFLs at home and have a warmer light, perhaps the choice of bulb and shade.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denali07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,460 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is located a short driving distance from the village center with a nice large parking lot. The hotel is also a good base for touring the Normandy Beaches. The staff was very friendly and provided us with very good service. Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed here three nights, the hotel does cater to tour groups, which can be a little noisy at times. We did not eat in the restaurant as thought the menu for dinner and breakfast looked rather pricey for what they offered. Instead we found some nice places in the village.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We visited this property in early June just ahead of the D-Day ceremonies. We were traveling as a family with my elderly parents along for the visit. This property is well situated just off the center of town which is within close walking distance to all of the shops and typical French restos and brasseries. Lots to choose from and if that is not enough cuisine options for you they even have a MacDonald's if you must!

Rooms were well suited for our needs although we could not get a wheelchair up the short two steps to the rooms, this was not a problem as my Father was able to get up the stairs on his own, but if you have someone completely wheelchair bound you should make this known before you show-up to ensure you are given a room down the hall form the front desk. Rooms was bright and cheerful bathroom and bed were both good and the hotel has an outdoor pool, careful here as the pool is solar heated and was very chilly when we stayed, I only saw a couple of small children swimming during our two day stay.

Food was average and the breakfast was adequate, there was something for everyone. The wait staff were very patient and spoke good English. For those coming from across the Atlantic, leave your expectation that everything should be prepared North American style at home, I notice folks from Canada and America like to complain about the food in Europe, especially how they make coffee. Hello, they make coffee the EUROPEAN way, as well as wet scrambled eggs, and bacon that is not burnt to a crisp, this is just how they do things, if you don't like it I suggest you order your breakfast Al a carte or stay home.

Location is great, and there is a rich history in the town, it boasts the The Bayeux Tapestry and D-Day Museum very close to the hotel and the beaches of Normandy are a very short drive away, as is the town of Saint-Mère-Église and Carentan both sites of significance during the Allied invasion. Very knowledgeable staff who can inform you with directions and attractions in the area most speak good English and they have great maps of the area as well.

Overall my parents were impressed with the beauty around and the cleanliness of the property, lots of trees and very warm feeling abounds, I could do with out the smoking right outside the property doors, but it is very close to lots of amenities including a gas station just down the road off the ring. I would recommend as a great budget option with plenty of free parking and easy to find. We would stay here again if we visit the Normandy area again in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the property with a view of the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very clean and ideal stopping place for the d day landing beaches etc. The food in the restaurant is certainly not worth the money. There was hardly any cooked food left the first day, the next day the bacon was raw and the scrambled eggs not cooked ...... guess what the 3rd morning we didn't bother!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool or garden at the rear of the hotel otherwise you get a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrobjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good location on ring road - short walk to restaurants. Like most French hotels they do not offer smoke-free rooms so you take your chances. A good budget choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile De Bayeux
Campanile De Bayeux
#9 of 21 in Bayeux
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Property: Novotel Bayeux
Address: 117 rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 Miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include free car park, swimming pool and landscaped. LED TV 40 "with 50 channels including BE IN SPORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing