We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views”

Brasserie Reine Mathilde
Ranked #16 of 95 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We sat in the window with views of the cathedral. Very good and tender steaks au poivre. Tasty deserts tastefully decorated. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    203
    66
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great late night find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

A visit to Bayeux was a must see during our trip to France in April 2013. But, after a much longer day visiting Normandie beaches, a sightseeing visit wasn't going to happen. But, we decided to drive through the town anyway and see what we could see. The Cathedral was breathtaking all lit up at night and we happened upon this restaurant. The town looked all but abandoned but this place was very lively. The food was great as was the atmosphere and our waitress very pleasant. If we have a chance to visit Bayeux again we'll definitely eat here again and possibly stay at the charming hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok food. Friendly Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in the hotel, so we thought eating nearby after a day of travel would be best. I would eat here again, but the food was just ok. Pretty touristy crowd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regularly Open all Year & regularly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you have a group of 3-4, the Mathilde is a fine establishment with an enormous menu of well-cooked Norman cuisine. if you are looking for intimate, this is not the best selection, as there are always larger groups enjoying its wonderful spirit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank orfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved this spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place was a find. Off the main street, you must look for it... not far from the TI. We ended up liking it so much that we had two breakfasts, one lunch, and two dinners here. Cozy atmosphere inside or dine under the awning. Great food at reasonable prices. Helpful and friendly service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Reine Mathilde also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing