We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent way to understand D-Day”

D Day Landing Tours
Ranked #9 of 37 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Follow in the footsteps and visit the Battlefields made famous in The Longest Day, Band of Brothers & Saving Private Ryan with native English speaking guides. Whether you are interested in the American, British or Canadian Sectors we are able to offer a private in depth, detailed historical tour with a fixed or tailor made itinerary to suit your needs. We specialise in detailed tours, but can offer sightseeing tours as well, with pick up from Normandy and Brittany.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent way to understand D-Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family took a full-day tour of the American sector with Eric in August. His historical knowledge is very impressive. We really got a good understanding of the scope of D-Day. Some of the most popular sites were full of people and we knew we made a good decision to take a private tour. Eric was able to steer us to just the right spots and really help us understand what we were seeing. He also strikes a perfect balance between debunking some of the myths of D-Day and showing an appropriate reverence for the magnitude of what happened there.

Eric and his wife also provided excellent customer service. We left a sweater behind in his van and they kindly mailed it back to us in the U.S. We'd like to go back sometime and have Eric show us the British and Canadian sectors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharetheroadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Gold Beach tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked Eric for a half day tour of Gold Beach - not one of the most popular D-Day tours. However, being proud Brits we wanted to find out more about this sector of the landings and to see the Mulberry harbour ar Arromanches.

Eric met us at our hotel at 8.30 and we made our way to Longues-Sur-Mer where he pulled out a large map of the landing areas and explained in easy language who was involved, what were the objectives and what defensives and resources the Germans could call on. We all liked the visit to the German battery, especially as we could go into the gun emplacements, and during an atmospheric heavy downpour we enjoyed seeing the forward observation post that overlooks the English Channel.

We were amazed by the Mulberry harbour at Arromanches - a real feat of British engineering and ingenuity. Eric showed us some great photos of how the harbours looked when they were operational. The scale of the planning for the whole D-Day operation takes your breath away!

I am a military history geek and soaked up all the information Eric could throw at me but he was able to retain the interest of my wife and two teenage children with interesting stories - we particularly enjoyed hearing about how (and seeing where) CSM Stan Hollis won his Victoria Cross - and he was comfortable moving from detailed accounts of regimental activity to an overview how the Gold Beach landings fitted into the D-Day operation. It was interesting to hear that the often criticised British and Canadians kept vast amounts of German armour occupied in the Caen area, which assisted the American breakout.

At the end of the tour Eric dropped us back at our hotel and we were left with a sense of disappointment - that we had not booked Eric to take us to Pegasus Bridge as well! We would thoroughly recommend a tour with Eric. He has a wonderful knowledge of the subject and was able to bring the history to life. We heard about the horrors of D-Day but when possible Eric lightened the mood with injections of humour. A thoroughly nice man who is very professional and is passionate about his subject. He is comfortable on all the landing areas and would be our choice to guide us again when we return to the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Benton, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Eric's passion and knowledge of Normandy is unsurpassed. The tour was magnificent and Eric had every detail perfectly organized. However, what makes this tour so spectacular is how Eric tailored the tour to our group. The emotional highlight of our tour was watching my father (a Korean Navy Veteran) and my uncle (a Vietnam Marine Veteran) lower the flag of The United States of America at the American Cemetery. Eric had arranged this as a surprise. Wow! That is a memory that will last a lifetime!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Private Tour for WW2 History!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

OK...I have to admit that my family are not what you call history buffs...we were interested in WW2 history 101. With Eric, we got so much more. He was very knowledge about the D-day invasion but best of all, he made it so interesting and made it come alive...I still remember standing in the hedgerows and getting a sense of what the soldier see, smell and felt. Bravo, Eric!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clownfish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Best Tour of Normandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Spent a full day with Eric touring the American invasion beaches and related sites. Eric has an encyclopedic knowledge of the Battle of Normandy and was able to translate this into powerful stories that roll back the decades and take you back to that day. I had just read Stephen Ambrose's D-Day but found that Eric has a gift in bringing the history to life that can't be replicated by a thick book. He was as knowledgable about the Allied efforts as he was the Germans.

We appreciated the ease with which we were able to book the date and their wonderful communication with Eric and Michelle. It was pretty refreshing to hear a Scot accent after a week in France and we enjoyed his humor and wit.

We've been with many tour guides over the years. Eric gets our highest endorsement.

The Litchfields
Henderson, Nevada

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Firstly I would like to apologise for the late reply to your post. Due to the posts like yours on Trip Advisor Eric and I have been very busy.

We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D Day Landing Tours also viewed

 

Been to D Day Landing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing