We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Bayeux”

L'Assiette Normande
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sedona, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Bayeux”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is our favorite restaurant in Bayeux. We visited Bayeux in November 2012 and this restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. We had a wonderful dinner there at that time including a complimentary drink which is their own signature drink. We returned to Bayeux this November 2013 and dined there twice both times for lunch (we were tired in the evenings). Both meals were excellent and served to us by a friendly and caring wait staff. Two of the waitresses we recognized from 2012 which tells you something about working there. When we returned for a second lunch a couple of days later the waitress was so excited to see us again that we received their complimentary drink at lunch time (last year we had a coupon from the hotel for this drink) immediately after being seated. Both visits I had their steak dish which is wonderful. It is topped with the local cheese (sorry I can't spell it but it begins with a "C" and is so good!!!
The first lunch my husband joined our friend and I but this second lunch was just our friend and myself. She tried the steak this second visit and loved it also. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and even if busy (as it was in 2012) they make every effort to seat you (we had no reservations). A lot of locals were there eating lunch both times which also tells you the nature of this restaurant. I do not agree with some of the comments on the "average food" as I do not feel it is average but everyone has different levels of dining experiences and budget. It is located right next to the Cathedral which makes for a lovely sight especially when dining after dark. I would highly recommend eating at this restaurant for a memorable experience. If we visit Bayeux again this will be at the top of our list. PS..if I may...there is a wonderful shop right across the street when exiting which is worth a look. I bought some wonderful socks there which come in so many colors. They have a lovely assortment of all sorts of things. Worth a look if open. Gracious owner also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    295
    106
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average in general but excellent steak ”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We had our first full French meal in this restaurant. The food quality was average in general, but my son rated the steak as one of the best, comparable to Morton's of Chicago (in Singapore), but at a fraction of its price.

Helpful?
Thank mum-o-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Family of 5 enjoyed our meal. The menus where in English and the waiter was very helpful and spoke English. Variety of food to choose from.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybuggs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely find!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Dining choices in Bayeux on a Sunday night are limited but thankfully we discovered L'Assiette Normand, located just a short walk from our hotel and what a wonderful discovery! Service was excellent and very friendly, despite the restaurant being full including a large group of 25 to cater for. The food was excellent - home made pate and onion soup followed by half duck with garlic potatoes then apple tarte for dessert. All that with a few beers was only 40 Euro. Absolutely delicious and value for money. A lovely start to our French travels.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very good, great location, mult-course set menus and decent prices”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Quaint "country"-style restaurant offering traditional Norman dishes, this place was a good choice. Located smack in the middle of town, we had a very fine meal. I ordered the sea bass that was cooked with apples. Could have had larger portions though. My wife's portion was larger, she got duck. The price was reasonable considering what you get; three courses plus cheese for 24E I think. It would have been helpful if you could mix-n-match what was on the various menus (maybe you could, we didn't ask). Anyway, we'd go again. Sure. If not for any other reason but for the CREME BRULEE!! They stayed open late for us, which impressed us. Great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Assiette Normande also viewed

 

Been to L'Assiette Normande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing