We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and reasonable”

L'Assiette Normande
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Busy and reasonable”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ate here today and agree with others that this is a smallish, unprepossing ,average restaurant near the cathedral. Service was good and cheerful. Portions were hearty and good value. Do not go for a gourmet meal but do go for friendly service with good helpings.
The white wine was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    295
    106
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"Je vous écoute"”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When your server takes your order with this informal greeting, you know it's more like eating in a friend's home than in a stuffy restaurant. "Homey" is the word for this place, and it describes the decor, the service, and the food. This place gets quite a crowd, so make a reservation or take your chances. They serve hearty local dishes, and it's a good value for money. Go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hochbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glad we chose to eat here”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ate here two out of the three nights we stayed in Bayeux, the food was excellent and very good value and the staff very pleasant well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good meal, excellent service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Tucked away in a back street, this is a small restaurant with some bustle and atmosphere about it. We had three courses for $15 AUD each which is very good value. The food servings weren't large but the meals were well cooked and satisfied our appetites. The duck confit was better than our Paris experience of it. However, beyond this, the service was exceptional. We tried our pidgin French consistently but one waitress was able to explain each dish in idiomatic English so well we beamed with delight and gratitude. Thank you. The less fluent English speaking staff were very helpful too. We were made to feel welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brianvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very busy place and reservations were certainly needed. Food was very good, service was also attentive, but very busy. Certainly a tourist place, but I found it enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Assiette Normande also viewed

 

Been to L'Assiette Normande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing