We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Elegant room with view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Castel Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Our superior room was well worth it as we had a small balcony overlooking the Cathedral which was beautiful when lit up at night! Our bathroom was large and clean. Our sons "standard" twin room was very cramped and had a small window. Luckily they didn't mind. The French lady working there was very pleasant and spoke slowly so we had no problem understanding her. The Petite Dejeuner breakfast was good for 6.50 Euros compared to others and was in a very lovely dining room across from the stunning stain glass front entry. The Bayeux Tapestry was fantastic and language headsets well done. The hotel parking across the street was never a problem but if it was full there was a free park lot just behind hotel. Its a great base to drive to the WW2 Beaches in either direction. The morning we left we headed off to Mont St Michel which was very impressive but get there early as masses of people and tour buses descend on it by midday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris.travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

We arrived just after noon and were greeted by the landlady.
We were surprised to realise she does not speak any English whatsoever, nor did she attempt to as she kept speaking in French even though we made it clear we do not understand it. It makes relying on staff for help impossible, however fortunately the tourist information office is very close-by where there are fantastic staff very willing to help.
The location was great- Sufficiently outside of the city-centre so as not to be affected by noise, and yet within easy walking distance of, well, everything really.

Unfortunately the landlady does not allow to park in the premises so one has to hope there would be available spaces in the opposite (free) car park. We usually found the last spot whenever we wanted to park, but at peak tourist periods it would certainly get difficult.

The room itself was very spacious with lovely decor, beautiful windows and a large wardrobe. The same can be said of the bath- very spacious and tastefully designed, however lack of soap trays in the shower seemed odd, as well as any drawers in the bed-room itself and in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_HallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelbayeux, Owner at Le Castel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your Normandy trip with worldwide travellers.
I would just like to add a few things to complete your review. It's absolutly correct that unfortunatly the lady owning the place and welcoming you does not speak English, like most of our guests don't speak French. But most of the time she and you travellers know enough words to communicate and so far it didn't create any problem. Of course in case of any emergence or for any assistance Madam's guests are always welcome to visit me at TARDIF which is the next property after LE CASTEL.
Regarding parking, It's true that we cannot allow our guests at LE CASTEL to park in our courtyard, but they surely can leave their car for a short moment, time for them to download their bags. i gues you noticed the courtyard is long but not wide enough to park 2 cars side by side. Like this, if we park more than one car the last car parked will be blocking all the others and this would be just a mess... And i must add that for security reasons we must leave enough space for an emergency van or a firemen truck to park immediatly in the property in case of accident or fire. But as some other travellers mentionned in previous reviews, parking is never an issue with all the free parking places all around : 2 car parks + free parking down the street.
Please be assured that all your comments were shared with our staff and will be considered.
Again, thank you for staying with us.
kind regards,

Anthony VOIDIE
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is an elegant house with nice and clean rooms at 5 minutes walk from the Bayeux cathedral. The only thing below our expectations was the breakfast, which could be richer. Anyway, this is a place I would certainly suggest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teortigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was a charming little B&B in the heart of Bayeux. The rooms and whole property were impeccably clean; the owners/hosts were gracious; the rooms were tastefully decorated; the bathroom wasn't cramped and also tastefully decorated; the shower was awesome; the room had a beautiful view.

The only con was that the bed could have been a tad more comfortable - the sheets were pretty thin and the bed felt just a tad flimsy - but overall, it was still a wonderful place to stay.

One of the best places we stayed during our whole trip in France.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliloveseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and found the property just lovely. The rooms were nicely decorated, well-maintained, and spacious. We stayed in a superior room with a view of the cathedral and felt this was well worth the price. We also had 2 other rooms and these were quite nice as well.The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent for visiting the prime sites in this beautiful city. The only minor disappointment was that breakfast choice was a bit limited.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbmhhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hshw220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischellev67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 22 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 22 in Bayeux
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
1,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castel Guesthouse

Address: 1 boulevard Sadi Carnot, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $81 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Deco villa built in 1937, right in historic center of Bayeux next to train station, museums, restaurants and place du Quebec (tours pick up place). We have several rooms with Cathedral view and private balcony or terrace. Bayeux is a beautiful city a few miles to the d-day beaches (10 minutes). Staying at Bayeux is a good choise to be near all the most beautiful sights of Normandy: Mont Saint Michel, Honfleur, Saint Malo, Caen, Deauville, ... We are also at 2:30 hours to Paris. Bayeux is between Paris and Mont Saint Michel. We hope to see you soon at home... Elen & Christophe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Castel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castel Noble Guesthouse Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing