We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice mansion , ideal location, free parking nearby . Average Breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Castel Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Castel Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 33 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice mansion , ideal location, free parking nearby . Average Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night in the superior room. Paid 100 euro and 6 for the Breakfast. Room was very large and so was the bathroom. Very clean. Cosy.
Nice view o. The cathedral.
Nice lady of the house. We do speak French.
Breakfast was cheap but too simple.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    69
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
29
155
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This bed and breakfast is located in Bayeux, a short walking distance from the cathedral and the Bayeux tapestry. Free parking is also very close so we didn't have any problems with our car. The rooms are good sized but some of the decor is out of place. It's a mix of traditional and modern. Our bathroom was large and recently redecorated in retro colors - yellow, black and blue. Our room had a balcony where we had a great view of the church. Service was good but they don't want you to check in before 2:00 pm. If you try before that time, you may not be let in. We had breakfast which was priced right and consisted of croissants, bread, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee. The owner is friendly and has the cutest dog!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony that overlooks the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeview80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The guesthouse is a really interesting building, we had the basement room which was very large and included our own lounge and also a small kitchenette. it was spotlessly clean, and very quiet. Madame does not speak English, but we have reasonable "Franglaise" and we do not expect the rest of the world to speak our language, when travelling. Madame was very friendly and polite, taking great pride in the presentation of the property. We ended up staying two nights as the area had so much to see and the stay was so enjoyable. We parked our car in the public carpark behind the property, taking the usual precaution of leaving the hatchcover, glovebox etc open to show there was nothing in the car, and it was unharmed and safe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this B& B for 1 night and found the owner spoke very quick French continually, despite the fact we cannot speak any french. She made no effort to communicate with us. She was not very welcoming. The toilet systern would not fill up in room 5. The decor was a bit tired. On a positive note the bathrooms were big and the beds were comfortable and it was a beautiful house, situated close to everything in Bayeux. It was a lovely town and it was nice to be in the middle of this lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywanderers5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a beautiful French house and gardens ! Easy to find, safe free parking just opposite and a better location you will not find. Our room, spacious and grand, had a balcony and overlooked the Cathedral. Lovely, friendly family run guesthouse, good breakfast. Much better than most hotels we stayed in. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niceoneharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have never stayed at a guest house like this. What an experience!, I felt like I was in the home of the Queen! The interior is incredibly well furnished, and the innkeeper was very friendly. Breakfast was excellent, and I have yet to find yogurt here in the States similar to the kind I had here. The location is great here as well, it is not more than a 20 to 25 minute drive to the D-Day beaches. The city of Bayeux itself is very nice as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennyTizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a beautiful guesthouse in the lovely Bayeux and such a great location. As we drove into Bayeux we weren't exactly sure where it was but you cannot miss it! It's such an interesting building and unlike anywhere else we've stayed before. Another note is that it's so easy to drive to from the Brittany ferry! literally there is no way you can get lost, I would absolutely recommend for a weekend!
Madame was lovely and spoke only french which we really enjoyed, and we had no problem with bringing in our things through the front door, although used the side entrance from then on.
Our room was also lovely, very art-deco and a nice little balcony where we could enjoy the sunshine and the great view of the cathedral (room #1). One funny language barrior moment was that we heard someone accidently trying to get into someone else's room and later Madame came to our room and chatised us for it, which we didn't really understand!
We opted for breakfast and were very pleased as everything was set out very nicely and there was a good selection (i don't know if it's a french thing but another guest was sat there in her PJs which we thought was hilarious!).
What more could you ask for? check-in and check-out was painless, lovely surroundings, lovely weather, lovely Madame, good price (€103 for 1night for 2 with breakfast).
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castel Guesthouse

Property: Le Castel Guesthouse
Address: 1 boulevard Sadi Carnot, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Deco villa built in 1937, right in historic center of Bayeux next to train station, museums, restaurants and place du Quebec (tours pick up place). We have several rooms with Cathedral view and private balcony or terrace. Bayeux is a beautiful city a few miles to the d-day beaches (10 minutes). Staying at Bayeux is a good choise to be near all the most beautiful sights of Normandy: Mont Saint Michel, Honfleur, Saint Malo, Caen, Deauville, ... We are also at 2:30 hours to Paris. Bayeux is between Paris and Mont Saint Michel. We hope to see you soon at home... Elen & Christophe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Castel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castel Noble Guesthouse Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing