We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in Normandy”
Review of La Rapiere

La Rapiere
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the heart of Bayeux, La Rapiere is a warm and traditionnal restaurant, with a food that we try every day to raise to offer you high standard meals.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Normandy”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We are glad to have chosen to search out this Rick Steves recommendation. Great food, attentive service, excellent value (38 EUR menu). Reservation is a must. One of our best meals ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    164
    29
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality Experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great food at a great price - 28 or 38 Euro set meals - oysters - Sea Bass - Beef Fillet with Truffles - wow - go there and you won't be disappointed - service attentive without being in your face - foodie highlight of our visit to a beautiful little town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

You can't beat the service or the food at this restaurant. Be sure and make a reservation, it's a small restaurant and the best food in France.

Great service, friendly staff and great food. YOU CAN'T DO ANY BETTER.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FunSeekerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“very good dining experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Chose to go there based on the very good reviews on TA, and have to say we were not dissappointed. We had some trouble finding the place, as the entrance is about 30 meters in a small street away from the main street, so we actually walked passed it 3 times.

We arrived there quite early (around 6:00 pm) as we had not made any reservation. And fortunately we were there so early, as the only tables still available were near the entrance door. We booked this table and went for a pre-dinner glass of (great local) white wine to a nearby pub.

The dinner at La Rapiere was nothing less than excellent, just like we could expect based on the TA rating & comments. The atmosphere was great, the staff was super friendly and accomodating, the food was just great. Everything one could expect from a great restaurant of this level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A delicious birthday meal!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We dined at La Rapiere in September on my wife's birthday. We went on the strength of reviews it had already received and we were not to be disappointed. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and was full - always a good sign. There were added touches of canapes follwed by gazpacho before the delicious three course meal and the accompanying wine was excellent. Linda, the manager, and the rest of her staff were very attentive and friendly. She even arranged a birthday candle for my wife's cheesecake! It was the perfect ending to our day in Bayeux.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rapiere also viewed

 

Been to La Rapiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing