We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to learn about D-Day events”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of OverlordTour

OverlordTour
Ranked #1 of 37 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Normandy,our tour agency invite you to discover the most poignant locations of the 1944 Normandy Landing,including the key landing beaches, war museums, and battlefields. Recommended by Veterans.
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent way to learn about D-Day events”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We took the one-day Omaha/Utah beach tour with Stephan. Communication with Overlord via email to set up our tour was easy and efficient, and when we arrived at the designated meeting spot in Bayeux Stephan was there to greet us along wiht the other guests (18 or so in total). We toured via a mid-sized tour van which was comfortable and offered good views during the scenic drive from location to location.

Stephan was highly knowledgable about D-Day events and was obviously passionate about the topic. It was very moving to visit the Omaha and Utah beaches; the highlight for me was our stop at the US Memorial Cemetary - I only wish we had had more time to linger and learn there, as there is a large memorial musuem and beautiful grounds where the seemingly endless rows of grave markers really give you a sense of how many men gave their lives for freedom throughout this battle. If we had a car we would have returned on our own to spend time at the cemetary.

I highly reccommend Overlord tours; and if your schedule can accommodate it, plan to spend at least a couple of days in the area on a tour and/or exploring on your own.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,800
    117
    26
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overloard tours”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

In May 2012 we took the overlord tours to the Normandy Beaches. Our guide was knowledgeable explaining carefully all the details, events that happen during the invasion. We were impressed by her sincerely, she did not rush us and was willing to answer any of our questions. Plus she was a courteous driver.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
“Overlord 2-day Neptune tour”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our party of 3 male adults took the 2 day Neptune Tour from Bayeux in Normandy, Each day was a full excursion day being collected and dropped off at our hotel by our guide. Good walking/hiking shoes/boots & camera recommended as well as protective gear as the weather was pretty identical to that of the DDay landing-cold wet & mîserable!
Our knowledge of the DDay landings were mainly from books & movies. Day1 covered the British/Canadian beaches with a lady guide who was knowledgable and factual. Day 2 was the American beaches guided by Stephane whose knowledge, wit and anecdotes were at all times entertaining and his English was excellant. The charts, maps and photos he used depicted the battle details and situations at each point of interest prior to us walking the sites/visiting museums. There was a good combination of use of museums aswell as outdoor experience.
It would have been useful to have been isssued with an info pack say with a few basic maps, charts, stats etc to read through while travelling from point to point as well as being a momento/souvenir of the tour.
All in all-very humbling experience and highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Overlord Tours does a Great Job”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We took the Band of Brothers Tour from Bayeux, France, to the major sights of Normandy. Our guide was very enjoyable, personal and funny. He took us to some hidden spots that in no way would we ever had found them on our own, including a church that was used as a field hospital to treat both allied and German wounded. In the center of the roof was a round hole caused by an artillery shell that penetrated the roof and crashed into the center of the church floor where miraculously it failed to detonate. Talk about salvation! The day we went the weather was, to put it mildly, horrible. Rain, Wind, sleet, more wind, cold, etc. just the kind of day they had on June 6, 1944 no doubt. I don't know how those brave men did it. The tour was about 90 euros each and lasted from 8:30am until almost 7pm and worth every cent. Our guide even returned to the museum gift shop we had left from to retreive my wife's unbrella she had forgotten, while the rest of us had lunch. Very classy!
One funny moment, he took us across a wet pasture to see where a German gun battery was located, if you watched Band of Brothers, you know what I am referring to...and we had to climb over an electrified wire which he stepped on so we could get over it...except when my wife tried of course. His foot slipped off in the rain and the wire gave her a course of good old electricity in the thigh.
I think she liked it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank murphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! Highly recommend Overlord tours and Sean!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Recently returned from Normandy and tour#2 with Overlord Tours full day tour), with my husband. We were picked up in front of our hotel--Villa Lara(also convienent for Churchill hotel). Van (8 passenger) was very nice and clean. Sean, our wonderful guide was very dynamic, obviously well-studied, well-read and has done a lot of research. His enthusiasm and passion shoed thru everything he said and showed us. His narratives, visual aides, biographies and personal observations brought the Invasion and the days surrounding it to life!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia29455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OverlordTour also viewed

 

Been to OverlordTour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing