We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overlord Tours Cruise ship D-Day tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OverlordTour

OverlordTour
Ranked #1 of 36 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Normandy,our tour agency invite you to discover the most poignant locations of the 1944 Normandy Landing,including the key landing beaches, war museums, and battlefields. Recommended by Veterans.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overlord Tours Cruise ship D-Day tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were on a recent Jewel of the Seas Transatlantic cruise. We also had Oliver for 2 days exploring the D-Day sites. We did the beaches the first day, along with seeing Pont du Hoc, and the Colleville cemetary. The second day we did more of an emphasis on the Band of Brothers sites. Oliver was there bright an early each day and provided us a lot of info on what happened on D-day and used a lot of pictures and maps to help us paint a visual picture in our minds of what it was like on that day. On the way back to the port we had stops at Bayeaux for lunch and to view the Bayeaux tapestry, a nice little French village for a break for wine and beer, and a second stop for a quick viewing of Honfleur. We were too tired to stop and walk around. On the second day we had people who had visited some sites we had planned to visit on the previous day. They felt Oliver was more informative and brought a different prospective to what they saw and heard the previous day. Both groups felt the tours were excellent. I will definitely go with Overlord tours again to cover other areas of D-Day that we didn't have time to see on this trip and I would request Oliver.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,753
    113
    26
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overlord Tours- WWII Normandy beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Overlord Tours are based in Bayeux, France which is about 6 miles inland from Omaha Beach. Stay at the Churchill Hotel in Bayeux. Go to Overlord Tours on- line for a review of all their tours- a great website. Can book on-line. Overlord Tour #3- Omaha/Utah beaches/ Band of Brothers- is an all day tour in an 8 person van. Our tour guide was Oliver who was extremely knowledgeable about the action at the various sites, the personnel, etc. Best for adults who have at least some knowledge of the Normandy invasion. Read Stephen E. Ambrose books- "D-Day" and "Band of Brothers" , view "The Longest Day" and "Band of Brothers" to get the most out of your tour. You will be well satisfied with the depth of information, maps, pictures and narrative. Of particular note is that Overlord Tours has special access into private property where key Band of Brothers / Easy Company, 506Th PIR, 101at Airborne actions took place- that was very special. Also, our guide had a hand written narrative by one of the Easy Company men written for Overlord Tours which really made the history come alive.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Went on the Band of Brothers tour with Sean who really knew his stuff. All off the beaten track spots which the other tour never did. If you are just after a general overview go with one of the other companies but if you are a military buff you cannot go past these guys for depth of knowledge.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ebby2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A most memorable day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and two teenage sons took the 1-day Omaha/Band of Brothers tour in early July and were totally satisfied. Our tour guide was Sean Claxton from England. Sean's knowledge was deep and he truly has a passion for sharing the story of what happened at these historic battlefields.

We had all seen the Band of Brothers series as well as Saving Private Ryan as well as we did some studying of the battlefield prior to our vacation so we were fairly familiar with the battlefield and history. I do suggest anyone taking these tours do some reading in advance so you can better appreciate the experience and see the terrain through the eyes of those young men who faced these challenges in 1944.

A few of the highlights...
Omaha Beach - truly impressive! Sean really knows his history and having the large print photos from the battlefield in WW2 certainly does help orient the group to the battlefield.

Omaha Cemetary - a very inspirational and yet solemn site. It did bring a tear to my eye as I took in the peaceful beauty of this perfectly maintained cemetary.

St. Mere Eglise - very nice private museum and gerat spot for a quick lunch. I recommend you take a picture of yourselves under the roadsigns pointing to Carentan, Caen etc....

Brecourt Manor - site of Dick Winters and Easy Company's first significant baptism by fire. We were able to actually walk on the same field along the hedgrow where the german guns had been dug in. My boys said walking this field was one of their two top highlights from our entire two weeks of traveling across Europe.

Utah Beach - make sure you get a picture of yourselves at the Liberty Road marker coming off the beach. This is maker KM 00 of the Liberty Road which runs all the way to Bastogne.

Make sure you dress comfortably with extra layers if needed. Despite it being a partly sunny July day we wore light jackets the entire day. I am sure that much of the year it can be quite chilly. Also, make sure you have plenty of space on your camera disc for photos as there are many fantastic photo opportunities at these sites.

The rates for this day tour are well worth it. We toured with four others in our group. It would have been nice to have been just the four of us and for those of you that can afford to book the tour for yourselves I do recommend that as an option. We did spend a little time waiting on others at points but it was not too bad with the small size group.

Thanks to Sean for his passionate touring!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank USMAGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only way to visit the D Day sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just back from France and one of the highlights of our trip was our Sunday all day tour of the D day sites. Julian, our tour guide, was excellent combining history, insight, humor and respect for all involved. My uncle is buried at the American Cemetery at Omaha Beach and this tour really brought home the sacrifices made during the entire Normandy Campaign. I cannot imagine visiting Normandy and trying to take in all the sights on your own. The tour is well worth the cost as Julian provided invaluable information. Do not miss taking this tour!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank blugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OverlordTour also viewed

 

Been to OverlordTour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing