We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normandy D-Day Tour: 1/2 Day”

Normandy Sightseeing Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.51*
and up
Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux
Ranked #7 of 44 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The most moving experience of our trip to France. It was on September 11th that we toured the sites of the Normandy region where the American Soldiers landed to assist in the allies. We felt the overwhelming odds the Americans encountered as they attempted to land. Since the Germans occupied the Normandy region for several years, the advantage that the Germans had by setting up in the hills around the beach prior to our soldiers arriving, made this an insurmountable task, initially. The knowledgeable guide shared the history and at times, it was too painful, knowing how unprotected the Americans were as they arrived and the casualties that resulted...
Besides the beach, the Pointe du Hoc and Longues-sur-Mer, this tour included The American Cemetary; a beautiful tribute to our lost soldiers. This tour is not to be missed and will help in gaining a better understanding of what happened during this tragedy.

1  Thank nothingliketraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pointe du hoc"
in 57 reviews
"omaha beach"
in 145 reviews
"half day tour"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 80 reviews
"american cemetery"
in 103 reviews
"anne sophie"
in 8 reviews
"train station"
in 44 reviews
"great tour"
in 40 reviews
"through viator"
in 6 reviews
"spoke excellent english"
in 7 reviews
"d day beaches"
in 31 reviews
"gun battery"
in 6 reviews
"bomb craters"
in 8 reviews
"german bunkers"
in 10 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 11 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 17 reviews
"american beaches"
in 19 reviews
Filter

512 - 516 of 596 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I left early on October 8, 2012 heading from Paris to the Churchill Hotel in Bayeux for the next day D-Day tour. We chose the all day tour, E-1. The next morning, Tuesday 9 October 2012, our tour guide, Matthieu L. picked us up right on time. The tour was absolutely outstanding and Matthieu could not have done a better job. We all got a good education that entire day. From site to site Matthieu explained what was happening during the D-Day's events. He was extremely knowledgeable and so professional with a great sense of humor. We had a great lunch and headed on. We arrived at the American Cemetery just in time for the taps and flag folding. Here was the highlight on my entire two week France trip. I was chosen as one of the volunteers to help fold the flag! What an extreme honor for me as I am a retired C-130 Air Force Master Sergeant after serving 23 years. Just to touch the flag that flew over so many heros was priceless!! Matthieu, we thank you again for the outstanding job!

Rich and Dr. Linda W.

2  Thank RichnLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On 10/10/2012 my wife and I had the pleasure of a guided tour conducted by Mathieu Legrand of Normandy Sightseeing Tours. The full day tour included visits to Omaha & Utah Beaches, Saint Mere Eglise & the airborne museum, Point du Hoc, the German Cemetery, Longues su Mer gun battery and you finish your journey at the American Cemetery where those who died during the invasion are so gratefully honored.

I cannot say enough kind words about our guide Mathieu. I thought I had read a great deal about the invasion...however, his prospective from both the Allied and German points of view was broad and deep. Not only did he discuss the invasion in great detail but he had a thorough understanding of all of the preperations in England & the challenges in crossing. His detailed maps of the invasion that he drew in the sand at Omaha and Utah Beaches were most helpful in understanding what was there to "greet" the Ameircans as they came ashore. All this and he had a delightful sesnse of humor too.

There 8 were of us in his group and there was not one question that he could not answer fully and completely. In my opinion, no matter what level of study you may have on the D-Day Invasion, Mathieu will have no problem keeping you informed and entertained. Was truly sorry to see the tour come to an end.

G. Thomas 10/17/2012

1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not only did NST provide us with a very knowledgeable student of WWII and Normandy's history, Matthieu, but also with a terrific experience of some of the best of the Normandy region. Our party of 4 spent 3+ days touring, starting with a pickup at our ship in Le Havre and ending with a drop-off at the Bayeux train station. In between we visited Honfleur and its surrounding hills, Deauville, Caen, Bayeux (and the tapestry), and the visit to a maker of Normandy cheese and a maker of cider/pommeau/calvados. We had a very full day of WWII, with time at both German and American cemeteries as well as Pointe du Hoc, Omaha, and Saint Mere Eglise. We had genuine Normandy crepes and a picnic from a farmer's market. All in all a historic and gastronomic pleasure, and all without having to navigate a car on our own. A very efficient and relaxed approach.

2  Thank PacificaCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our group of 4 traveled to Bayeux especially to tour the D-Day beaches. Our guide, Mathew, was prompt, listened to our requests, and gave us a tour of a life time. We were especially interested in Utah Beach and also Omaha Beach and the American cemetery. Mathew was very knowledgeable, it was easy to tell that he is interested in and has studied the history surrounding D-Day. He took us to the beaches and described the battles, strategy, engineering, and many other aspects. We learned a great deal and now have a better perspective of what happened there, and somewhat of what it was like for my father who landed shortly after D-Day. We were impressed and the day flew by. We would highly recommend! And it is a very good value.

Thank Cristina36017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy Sightseeing Tours also viewed

 

Been to Normandy Sightseeing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing