We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay!!!!”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay!!!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We traveled with another couple and loved our two night stay with Will, Guy and Yvette.
Everything was perfect...bedroom was clean and nicely decorated...breakfast was great, and Will recommended the best places to eat and made our reservations.
Cannot say enough about their hospitality and lovely home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
208
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We came for one night, stayed for two and would have loved to spend more days in this wonderful, well kept old house with an extravagant modern touch and great owners. An ideal place to explore the town, Caen and beaches of the D-day landings. And the fine breakfast served with a view to the garden is a good basis for explorations of the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaSpecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfiled, Va
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at the Relais de la Tour Louise on October 1, 2 and 3. It is a treasure hidden amongst many treasures in Bayeux. Our host, Will, was wonderful and accommodating. We were quite late in our arrival. He waited for us, helped with our luggage and arranged for us to have dinner around the corner and, in fact, drove us there. Our room overlooked the Cathedral which, at night, is glorious. The room itself was quite comfortable and quite large. The bathroom was more than adequate. Breakfast was served in a lovely sun lit dining room overlooking a delightful garden. In short, it was a wonderful experience. Most surprising was the low cost of our room inclusive of breakfast. Even better was our host. Jim and Adele Sebben, Springfield, Virginia

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSpringfiled_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, They made dinner reservations at two affordable and excellent restaurants within walking distance. Their guesthouse is within sight of a beautiful cathedral and within walking to the wonderful Bayeux tapestry. Breakfast (rolls, breads, jams, cheese, juice) was fresh and plentiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This B&B is located within two minutes walking distance of the Bayeux Cathedral and within 5 or so minutes (also walking) of the Bayeux Tapestry. It also has a free parking lot just outside its door, a delicious breakfast, immaculate bedrooms with very clean and modern bathrooms, fantastic views of the cathedral, and free WiFi. But the best part about our stay at Le Relais de la Tour Louise was Will, who was the consummate host. We dealt with a very unfortunate occurance while here -- a family issue we won't go into -- and Will was kind and considerate, helping us as best as he could. For that we are very grateful. Will was a wonderful guide, aiding us with restaurant recommendations and with our visit to the nearby commemorative WW2 sites. Will also speaks English very well. This was definitely our best B&B/hotel experience we've had. Thanks again, Will. We really appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria_grabner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, AB
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We recently stayed at Le Relais De La Tour Louise for three nights (wife and I & her parents). This was our first time in France and our first stop on our two week tour and was a definite highlight. We were warmly greeted by the Bellee family (Guy, Yvette and son Will), whose old house in Bayeux is full of character and perfectly located on a quieter side street just behind the cathedral. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had free wifi. The breakfasts included juice, tea/coffee, fresh croissant, pain au chocolat and brioche, yogurt and cereal. There is also a nice garden courtyard where we enjoyed a few al fresco lunches with produce from the local market.

Will was very helpful with suggestions for places to eat and getting around to the various sites and overall we found the hospitality of Will and his parents excellent.

There is parking in a public lot 20 m from the front door, we had no problem finding a space each evening.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lodging to anyone looking for a quiet stay in a B&B. Thank you to Will, Yvette and Guy for a wonderful experience and a fantastic welcome to France.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wedelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We used to live in Normandy so this trip was in part to revisit old friends - people and places alike. la Tour Louise is a characterful little bed and breakfast in the centre of Bayeux near the cathedral which we had seen but never stayed at before. Being in the heart of Bayeux there is plenty to see and loads of restaurants nearby. They provided restaurant recommendations but unfortunately we couldn't take advantage as we had other plans. They also have lots of tourist brochures, which were not out of date (for once). One downside, and one we knew before we booked, is that it is VERY busy around here in July and parking is a lottery.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonno9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Property: La Tour Louise
Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing