We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

La Tour Louise is a charming 200 year old guesthouse owned and run by the third generation of the same family. Rooms are spotless and very well appointed. Everything looks new. Almost no detail has been missed. The location is within walking distance of everything in town. Our room had a spectacular view of the cathedral. Wil B., the current owner, is a warm and gracious host and an excellent source for restaurant recommendations, Normandy beach guides, and any questions about the local area. Wil serves a generous breakfast which can include eggs and bacon if desired. We would highly recommend staying at La Tour Louise.

Room Tip: View of Cathedral
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dupuy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for La Tour Louise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 341 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband, in-laws and I spent 3 nights at La Tour Louise Guesthouse and of 5 hotels on our France trip this was my absolute favorite! Will was such a gracious host and he even made us eggs/bacon each morning to accompany the regular French-style breakfast. The rooms were so charming, comfortable and clean and we had a view from our bathroom of the impressive Bayeux Cathedral. I would highly, highly recommend this B&B to anyone touring Normandy!

Room Tip: We had top floor rooms and the Cathedral views were gorgeous!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewReviewer977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this historic, charming B&B. Wil was an excellent host, giving lots of recommendations on places to eat, which wasn't easy on Sun and Mon eve as Bayeux virtually shuts down. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated and we had an amazing view of the Notre Dame from the bathroom window. Breakfast was very good, fresh bread cheeses and jams and delicious pastries!! Plus if you had room, scrambled eggs and bacon!! its in an excellent location, great for Bayeux tapestry and DD tours, and if arriving by train it's just a 10 min walk. We always choose B&B's now because of the personal touch and Wil and his B&B is no exception, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0ny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a wonderful two nightstay with Wil at this lovely guesthouse. Right from the minute we arrived, Wil was helpful and really went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. He insisted on carrying our heavy suitcases up the stairs which was very nice. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had an amazing view of the Bayeux cathedral from the bathroom window. The location is fantastic, with only a short stroll to get to the town centre where you can find the cathedral, the Bayeux Tapestry, and a huge variety of cafes, restaurants and shops.

Wil gave us some great restaurant recommendations as well as a map with directions (and some local tips) on how to get to all of the nearby D-Day sites. His breakfast was delicious each morning, including eggs and bacon, pastries, bread, cheeses, spreads, fresh fruit and more. He joined us each morning for a chat which was great as we got a real insight into the local culture and also because he is just such a nice guy.

Overall, it is one of the best B&B stays we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Five stars is not enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrashMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

All I can do is echo the praise for Wil and the terrific guest house that he manages in Bayeux. We were able to walk quite easily from the train station which made it very convenient. Wil greeted us warmly and showed us our room which was quite roomy, immaculate, and featuring a world class cathedral view from the bathroom window. The breakfasts, served in a homey breakfast area next to the private garden, were more than French adequate, and we enjoyed our morning conversations with other guests very much. The location was perfect, close enough for easy access to the tapestry and meeting our D-Day beaches tour, but remote enough to be quiet. Our meals and Riene Mathilde and the great little pizza place were very tasty. Wil was kind enough to call a taxi driver in Sarlat so that he could meet our late train three days hence. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed with Wil at La Tour Louise for two nights in mid March. We found Wil to be an extremely charming and efficient host who seemed anxious to provide a personal touch for all of his guests.
His accomodation is very clean and well maintained in addition to its very central location in Bayeux.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend La Tour Louise to anyone looking for a pleasant B&B experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Proximité du centre ville - cadre cosy et très propre, accueil familial et personnalisé. A recommander !

Close to town center, very clean, welcoming and Will was helpful with information about restaurants open on a Sunday evening. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing