We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #3 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great place to stay lovely decorated rooms so cozy warm and so very clean. The continental breakfast was fresh every morning and you could choose what time you wanted to eat. We had to leave early on our departure day but that wasn't a problem for Wil he still gave us breakfast at 6 o clock in the morning. The view of the Cathedral from the bathroom was amazing! Bayeux is a beautiful little town we visited the tapestry and the British war graves, there are lots of restaurants to choose from. We booked a tour of the D-Day landings for one of the days Wil recommended the tour company which was excellent. I would highly recommend La Tour Louise and would like to say a big thankyou to Wil for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
190
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm just going to write a short review, as everything that I would have written is already here. We stayed between Christmas and New Year on a very short overnight trip from London. We were with our friends from The USA, and because of limited time, one night was all we could do. But in a nutshell, La Tour is excellent, Wil is great, very charming and nothing is too much trouble. I will go back again to do the British/Canadian tour. Simply a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrotoscar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is one of those “hidden gems” you don’t really want to tell anyone about, because, as much as you adore the place and the owner, you don’t want it to become too popular, in case you can’t get in the next time you stay. And you will want to come back.

Wil, the owner, is a superb host (my personal definition of the perfect host, in fact), going out of his way to make you feel “at home”, but without getting in your way or making you feel like you're being monitored. The second-floor room we had was simply wonderful, with solid, “old school” wooden furniture, subtle yet classy decoration, and a little adjoining single bedroom for us to put our cases in. The plumbing is modern, and this is a major bonus as French plumbing can occasionally be a little on the “eccentric” side, but no worries here – showers and toilets work as they should, and since the place was only refurbished last year it all feels new and super-clean; the cleaning/housekeeping was also first rate. Another welcome modern touch is the excellent double glazing – this guest house is within a stone’s throw of the Cathedral (you can clearly see it from the rear window, about 150 metres away), but you don’t get woken at all hours by the bells. In fact, the peace and quiet, combined with the excellent quality of the beds (no cheap beds or mattresses here!) made sure we slept even better than we do at home. 10/10!

When you take into account La Tour Louise’s very reasonable prices you end up with a place that's streets ahead of anything else I've tried in Bayeux, including some much more expensive hotels. As Bayeux is such an excellent “base of operations” for seeing Normandy, as well as having plenty to offer in its own right, you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else. One word of warning – heed Wil’s recommendations as to cafes and restaurants; Bayeux has some excellent places for dinner (like La Rapiere, which was sadly closed for Christmas when we went, but where I've had excellent food many times before on previous trips), but the quality vs. Value For Money equation can be sorely tested in Bayeux, so it’s easy to end up spending silly money just for lunch. Wil recommends a local Hotel/Cafe-Bar which does excellent lunchtime crepes and Galettes (buckwheat Breton crepes – absolutely delicious and a “must try” when in the area, with sweet or savoury fillings), as well as offering excellent beers, but outside of his “approved list” I’d be wary; a lot of lunchtime and evening places in Bayeux seem overpriced for what they're offering (of which more in another review!). La Tour Louise offers a limited (but excellent) continental breakfast of tea/coffee and pastries/cereals/yoghurt/cheese, but thankfully doesn't overcharge (€6 per person when we stayed), as opposed to the €8/€10/€12 I've seen elsewhere. Wil even sits and chats to you over breakfast if you fancy an excellent conversation with a charming Frenchman to start your day, though he's never intrusive.

One word of warning for fat Americans – La Tour Louise is a period building, and thus has up to 2 stories/floors-worth of stone-clad stairs to the top rooms (other rooms are on the first floor though). If you are heavily overweight you may thus find yourself whining about having to walk up 20 or so steps, and possibly wake up other, sleeping guests with your wheezy panting and endless whinging. Normal folk will be fine though – Currahee it ain’t.

If it’s your first trip to Bayeux you must visit the Tapestry, which even for a “non sightseeing person” like me is a delight every time I go back (the sense of history is something special) but there's lots more to see in Bayeux, and Normandy in general. The excellent D-Day Museum in Bayeux is worth a wander round, and I always pay my respects at the Bayeux military cemetery too. In short, if you haven’t been to Normandy before then give it a go – we left early one morning, took the Eurotunnel, and were in Bayeux by lunchtime (4 hour-ish drive once you emerge from the tunnel) but one word of warning for motorists – the old French habit of clearly warning about imminent speed cameras has now gone, replaced by a ban on any in-car device that warns of camera locations (I defy this and retain the old warning databases on my TomTom) and a few “new” cameras in new locations have been added to catch out the unwary. Vigilance is a must. Or adherence to speed limits, but where's the fun in that?

So, in summary, Bayeux’s an excellent base for exploring Normandy, and La Tour Louise is, in my opinion, the best, cleanest, and most welcoming guest house (or hotel for that matter) you'll find in Bayeux – just leave some room for us when we go back! (as we surely will, Wil).

Room Tip: Our top floor room was simply superb, and had a double, and a single, beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBear2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location, lots of character, proper hot shower, lovely rooms and Will is a great host. Strongly recommended to anyone wanting accomodation in tune with Bayeux.


Other pluses, rooms serviced daily, reasonable wifi foc, tv, tea and coffee, hairdryer in room and so quiet at night.

Room Tip: Only three rooms so book them as soon as available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hickers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

La Tour Louise is a beautiful guesthouse in a beautiful town! We enjoyed every minute of our stay. the room was beautiful, spacious and homely. It was within an easy walk from the train station and close to the city centre. Will was an amazing host who made sure to show us all the sights on a map, what restaurants would be opened, he helped carry our heavy bags and was great to chat to during breakfast. Will even offered us a lift to the station on our last morning as we were running late and had big heavy bags!! (Which we were very thankful for!) Will is an extremely nice person and a wonderful host. We will definitely be back and would suggest this guesthouse to everyone considering a stay in Bayeux!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariana00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I chose Bayeaux as a central location for our visit of Normandy. Our host Wil was so gracious and sat with us during breakfast and gave us a wealth of information regarding Bayeaux. The breakfast was amazing made up of fruit, delicious croissants, yogurts, baguette, jams, orange juice, and coffee. Our room was very cozy, warm and comfortable. Thank you Wil for helping make our stay in Bayeux so pleasant and memorable. We would stay here again if the chance presents itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracy_allende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We traveled with our 3 boys aged 18, 15, and 9 on New Year's Day 2013 from Paris for an overnight in Bayeux to visit the American Cemetery and Normandy beaches and view the Bayeux Tapestry. This is a very quiet time, and many hotels and restaurants were closed for a break. This meant no crowds, but we had some difficulty locating a room for the night and a restaurant. Luckily, Will at La Tour Louise was open and had availability. He directed us to the one restaurant that he knew was open and serving dinner when we arrived.

The 2 rooms we took were nicely appointed, clean, cosy and had very nice bathrooms. Both had lovely views of the quiet street, and one had a beautiful view of the cathedral through the back garden. The lovely little town of Bayeux was all within walking distance.

Breakfast was fresh and plentiful - baguettes, croissants, fruit and coffee as well as hot chocolate and frosted flakes for the boys.

Will was welcoming, friendly and gracious.

We would definitely recommend it to other travelers to the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Property: La Tour Louise
Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing