We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Tour Louise”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were met by Wil, our host, who was very helpful and went out of his way to try and organise some tour trips for us. His English is very good. Breakfast was excellent - homemade jams, fresh bread, croissants, yoghurt, eggs, juice, tea and coffee. Room was clean and serviced daily. Position is excellent - a 10 minute walk to the station, next door to Cathedral and a short walk to tapestry and Information centre. On our last morning, Wil offered to drive us to the train station as it was starting to rain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stemic5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for La Tour Louise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 339 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice stay here. We used this as our base for exploring the Normandy Landing Beaches and it was well located for that. It was also located well in Bayeux itself (eventhough Bayeux is not very big). The site says that public parking is located "nearby" which is actually right next to the house! Or you can park on the street right across from it! I would have liked a tea kettle in the room, but there is a small fridge at least. The room was warm and cozy and Wil was very helpful. We had no issues with it, but just a warning that the stairs are narrow and steep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This delightful B&B was one of the last booking we made for our 6 week journey around France. It is always a concern when you make a booking on the internet and have to rely on other people's reviews - you often wonder how genuine they might be.
Everyone was spot on with Wil and his establishment.
The location is perfect for Normandy sightseeing, the Bayeaux Tapestry, restaurants, Cathedral etc and Wil is an extremely friendly, helpful young man who wants all his guest to have a memorable experience. He drove other guests to the rail station while we were there to avoid them getting wet in the rain.
He speaks perfect English and loves to talk about countries where he has been or where we might have been. In fact, you could stay there all day talking to him if you didn't have so much of interest in the area to see & do. He recommended a very good, reasonably priced restaurant within walking distance for us. We were on the 3rd level and the room had a great view of the nearby Cathedral and Wil and his family's courtyard. The shower was the best we came across on our travels - proper fitting doors that kept the water in! Car parking is right next door.
The B&B is in a beautifully restored old building and is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and very quiet.The bed was very comfortable.
There is nothing we disliked about the place but it needs to be noted that the rooms are on the upper 2 levels via a winding staircase. This is not a factor as far as suitcases go as Wil was only too pleased to carry them up for us, if required, but it could be a factor for elderly or handicapped guests - which is a shame, as you would miss out on some genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandJAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed only 5 nights we would have stayed more. Will was the perfect host. The room was very clean. Will was very helpful with all our inquiries and questions, he really went out of his way to make us feel welcome.
We would recommend this place without hesitation
The location was the best close to the cathedral, Tapestry, the D-Day Beaches & restaurants.
The breakfast was excellent, fresh croissants,cheese & the best homemade jams made by his mother. Overall the best place we stayed during our trip in France.

Room Tip: No preference all rooms are great
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have visited France many times in a variety of lodgings, some splendid, but this is the best, by a clear margin. It is very well situated, close to the centre but in easy reach of the station - a ten minute walk away. I stayed for 5 nights, solo, in the double room. It had character, an extra large wardrobe and two very comfortable chairs, ideal for reading. There were tea and coffee facilities and a refrigerator. The absence of a TV was for me a welcome bonus. I had not taken a personal computer but rooms were geared for wi-fi. The road was quiet, which meant that sleep was undisturbed. A bonus is the separate entrance for guests - it meant that one could come and go without any sense of being a nuisance by doing so. The bathroom was spotless and with a perfect view of the impressive cathedral (it would have been more impressive without the 19th Century additions, such as the copper tower on the lantern but the influence of Viollet-le-Duc was so extensive). Breakfast was very good and companionable, with fresh breads, scrambled egg - and jams that were pure fruity pleasure: I loved both the apricot and rhubarb. Best of all was the ever-helpful and friendly Wil - a delightful and interesting host, genuinely interested in his guests, looking at all times to make the visit as comfortable as possible, going well beyond what any guest can expect, offering - one kindness among many - to drive me to the station on my final morning. A bonus was his list of restaurant recommendations - I ate well in the evenings.

(ignoremy error on the non-existent swimming pool!)

Every plaudit on these pages is deserved.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved our stay here! Will, the owner, was fabulous. Prior to our visit Will emailed me and assisted with setting up tour and dinner reservations for us. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had a tremendous view of the cathederal. Breakfast was also very good.

It was like staying at a friends house! We are loking froward to going back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benton2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Bayeux with two other couples, and we all voted La Tour Louise our favorite lodging of our trip to France. Wil, our host was very helpful. He even gave me a jar of his mom's homemade jam when I commented on how delicious it was. The location is perfect and has a great view of the cathedral. We would definitely stay there again if we are lucky enough to travel back to Normandy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamD8820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing