We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect start to our holiday”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfect start to our holiday”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Elegant townhouse in the centre of Bayeux. We stayed here for one night on our way to the Loire.
It was easy to find in the very centre, just behind the cathedral.
Lots of nice walks, restaurants and shops.
Very welcoming family owners. Comfortable, clean, charmingingly decorated rooms.
Superb view of the cathedral from our bathroom window.
So breathtaking in fact that I couldn't resist just looking out on the cathedral and gardens in the early morning light and enjoying the peace and beauty.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraChristine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
202
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We enjoyed a fabulous stay at the Relais de la Tour Louise. We were just around the corner from the church, and about two blocks from the Tapestry. We parked safely right across the street. This was a great base for exploring the Normandy Beaches. Will, our host, speaks perfect English, yet he was patient and willing to assist us with our meager attempt at French. Will made our reservation process very easy. He made a dinner reservation for us at "Assiette Normande". This was absolutely the best meal we had in our entire 2 week travels around France. Will sat with us at breakfast every morning. He seemed to enjoy hearing about our adventures, and he had excellent advice regarding sightseeing; travel time-frames; directions; and food. Breakfast was an ample array of fresh breads and yogurt. We had a spectacular view of the church out our bathroom window. We highly recommend Relais de la Tour Louise in Bayeaux.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our group was running late, driving over from Dinard/Pleurtuit airport. Yvette and Will had suggested La Rapière for dinner and had made us a reservation there. When they realized we would be late for dinner too, they called the restaurant to keep them updated. We really appreciated this and eventually had a wonderful seafood meal there. We were also grateful for the warm welcome by Will, Yvette and Guy even though the hour was late. We loved the rooms and the view of the cathedral (my mother and I were in Chambre Bleue). Our stay was really too brief since we had a tour starting early the next morning. Next time we will stay for longer, and definitely at this beautiful house again. Thank you so much Yvette, Will and Guy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayOuterBorough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

What a wonderful surprise to stay at Relais de la Tour Louise! We came up from Paris for four nights to visit Dday sights and Normandy. We absolutely loved our time in Bayeux and at this B&B. It is run by Yvette and her son Will, who speaks perfect english. They are super friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was served every morning and laid out in a beautiful comfortable setting. We are recommending our parents come stay here for ease of location and great staff. As well, they shower in the Chambre Rose was fabulous! Possibly the best shower I've ever had in all of France- very modern and big.

And of course, the view of the Cathedral out our window was spectacular!

Room Tip: Chambre Rose had a great shower/bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenrkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After the intensity of Paris this place was a quiet gem. We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. Will is the best host and went out of his way to help us. He organized tours for us, got up before dawn to make sure we didn't leave without having breakfast and helped us to the train. You could not have asked for more. This B & B is in a beautiful old home in the middle of town. The view from the toilet is the most spectacular I've seen. The home made traditional touches made by Will's mum at breakfast were great. We also really enjoyed chatting to Will. If you are staying at Bayeux you should not stay anywhere else. Great value for money

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHills4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were very lucky that somebody had previously cancelled their reservation at this gem of a B&B -- we experienced a fabulous top-floor room with that amazing view of the Bayeux Cathedral that you see on this posting. Will and his parents were very friendly and we enjoyed sharing breakfast time with our fellow guests from Texas. Try to stay here if your travel plans take you to Bayeux!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Will met us with a smile, and gave great suggestions for our stay in Bayeux. His parents, though they speak little English, are warm and gracious. Bayeux is a charming town, with lots to see and do there and nearby. We made it our base to explore the Normandy Coast, do a D-Day Tour and see some WW I sights.

Room Tip: Loved the Cathedral view from bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Property: La Tour Louise
Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing