We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful quiet place”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After the intensity of Paris this place was a quiet gem. We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. Will is the best host and went out of his way to help us. He organized tours for us, got up before dawn to make sure we didn't leave without having breakfast and helped us to the train. You could not have asked for more. This B & B is in a beautiful old home in the middle of town. The view from the toilet is the most spectacular I've seen. The home made traditional touches made by Will's mum at breakfast were great. We also really enjoyed chatting to Will. If you are staying at Bayeux you should not stay anywhere else. Great value for money

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHills4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 345 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were very lucky that somebody had previously cancelled their reservation at this gem of a B&B -- we experienced a fabulous top-floor room with that amazing view of the Bayeux Cathedral that you see on this posting. Will and his parents were very friendly and we enjoyed sharing breakfast time with our fellow guests from Texas. Try to stay here if your travel plans take you to Bayeux!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PARcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Will met us with a smile, and gave great suggestions for our stay in Bayeux. His parents, though they speak little English, are warm and gracious. Bayeux is a charming town, with lots to see and do there and nearby. We made it our base to explore the Normandy Coast, do a D-Day Tour and see some WW I sights.

Room Tip: Loved the Cathedral view from bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Staying at this B&B was a great beginning to our two week trip to northern France in early May. We were very pleased with it and highly recommend it to others. We originally selected it because it could accommodate our family of 3 and because of all the many positive reviews it received on TA.

Our room on the third floor had a view of the street and the building across the way. We did not notice any street noise. Our daughter slept in a small bedroom adjourning ours. Our room also had a single sofa/chair that I believe could be unfolded into a bed for a fourth person. The view from our bathroom window was of the garden, some rooftops, and the cathedral in the distance which was beautiful, especially at night when it was lighted (too bad we did not have this view from our bedroom, but that's okay.)

I believe the house itself is about 200 years old and is in excellent condition. Our rooms were very clean. Fresh water bottles were provided each day during our two day visit. Daily room service was also provided. The B&B was a 5 minute walk to the gathering place for our D Day tour with Overlord Tours.

The B&B had a nice little garden courtyard with a table and chairs. For our first night, we bought some picnic supplies in town and sat in the garden for our dinner. Will, our host, kindly provided us with a table cloth, plates, silverware, and glasses. Will was very gracious, friendly and helpful during our stay and spoke excellent English. The breakfasts consisted of pastries, yogurt, cereals, juice and coffee. Will also served some of his mother's home made jams which were delicious.

Finally, compared to what we paid for the other places we stayed during our trip, I thought the price for this B&B was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandHeidi392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

If you want to visit the D-Day sites in Normandy and you want to stay in a great central location, Bayeux is the place to stay. It is a charming town with a grand cathedral and some wonderful restaurants. If you want to make your trip extra-special, then stay at the Le Relais de la Tour Louise bed and breakfast house with the Bellee family. They will welcome you into their lovely home with charming, clean rooms... the linens are so soft and they smell so good. The bathroom was spotless, the shower nice and hot. In the room, was a hot pot with tea bags, coffee and hot chocolate. Parking was free and convenient. The location was perfect. We had our own private entrance. The breakfasts were generous and delicious. We were treated with fresh baked goods from Madame Bellee's kitchen. Friendly and outgoing son, Wil, speaks perfect English and will help you with anything. He recommended some great restaurants (especially La Rapeire) and even made reservations for us. If your French is weak or non-existent, don't let that stop you from conversing with Monsieur Bellee. Wil can interpret and you will enjoy hearing about their life in Normandy. They are a delightful family and we are so glad we found them on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMAYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Will goes out of his way to ensure you have a good stay in Bayeux - making recommendations and bookings based on his great knowledge of the town and surrounds. Breakfast is also delicious - where produce is local and again Will makes sure you are well looked after.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank travellertobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Excellent location backing on to the cathedral.

Clean room, comfortable bed, tea making in the bedroom, nice breakfast, very friendly English speaking host (Will) who booked us restaurants before we arrived, free parking next door, and cheap - what more could you want?

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

Bayeux was also lovely (although rather expensive) and an ideal location for exploring the landing beaches, Pegasus Bridge etc. Also its just round the corner from the tapestry.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonW2008_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing