We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)
Book In Advance
More Info
$215.34*
and up
Small-Group Normandy D-Day Beaches Day Trip with Omaha Beach, American Cemetery...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“For **** US General”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Living at the theater of the most decisive battles ever fought on earth, French people in Normandy tolerate English better than say in Paris. That is my reason to travel. To see by oneself before giving a final verdict.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ukkelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    30
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“D-Day Beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are many tour companies that go to the beaches and the nearby museums. As far as I could determine, they all have excellent reviews. We only got to see Omaha beach. There are still German bunkers, command centers and weaponry there. You can also see depressions that were made by exploding ordinance. You should try to take in the museums as well. They are a treasure trove of information and you can see the weapons, uniforms, and equipment of the soldiers, sailors and airmen (and women). The American cemetery with nearly 10,000 graves, is a stark reminder of the sacrifices that were made there. You really need to spend a couple of days there to see everything. There are trains that run from Paris to Bayeaux, so it is easy to set there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank likesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“LinkParis D-Day Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just wanted to provide some feedback on the D-Day trip. In one word, incredible. Matthew was a terrific host and guide. He was very knowledgable and has a great personality. He made my parents feel very special and made the day one they will never forget. I sincerely appreciate the professionalism and courtesy extended to my family during our tour. I would highly recommend the experience and Matthew as a guide. Thanks again for your assistance and helping to make the arrangements.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Important historical sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We did a tour of the American D-Day beaches with local guides. It was interesting and something that should not be missed. It is especially good at low tide since you can see the remnants of WWII. We only spent a day seeing 2 of the beaches and a museum, but we barely scratched the surface.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A must visit when in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked our D-Day tour through Viator.com and where do I start. The day trip was very well organized and our guide was very knowledgeable. It is a couple hour bus ride from Paris to Normandy but a bathroom stop is scheduled both coming and going. Our first stop was the Caen Memorial which if your unfamilar with D-Day gives you the complete history. After lunch at the Memorial we visited Pointe Du Hoc and then on to the U. S. cemetery at Omaha Beach. While we were at the cemetery it happened that the Govenor of Mississippi was there and he placed a wreath at the grave of the unknown soldier. During the placing of the wreath the U.S. national anthem played followed by taps . . . . every person in that cemetery stopped and came to attention until the ceremony ended. Next we proceeded to Sword Beach and finally Juno Beach to acknowledge the British and Canadian soldiers. The tour made for a long day but it was worth it to visit that hallowed ground. A must visit while in France.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnovak5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie) also viewed

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Cricqueville-en-Bessin, Calvados
 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing