We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)
from $240.80
More Info
from $195.00
More Info
from $1,468.00
More Info
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
140
10
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
10
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews d day beaches omaha beach american cemetery humbling experience day trip tour company hallowed ground normandy invasion american landing spent days sword beach gold beach low tide longues sur mer british canadian allied forces brave soldiers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 156 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

It was an awesome experience. What those Soldiers and Sailors accomplished was a true miracle. We went at low tide, same as the invasion. The distance from the water across the beach to any sort of cover was a terrifying to thing to ponder. We also visited a couple of German artillery bunkers. They gave the feeling of true evil.
The area has several museums that are worth seeing.
The National Cemetery was a somber reminder of the battle to free France and the rest of Europe.
The people in Normandy were great, they like Americans. They were friendly and patient when shopping and ordering in restaurants. The country side was beautiful. The hedgerows were a reminder of how tough things were for the troops. Lots of farms and narrow roads that can be confusing.

Thank ArtguyAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Walk slowly along the beach and explore the bunkers to get a feeling for what June 6, 1944 must have been like; any patriot or any nationality owes it to his development as a person to experience the beaches at Normandy.

Thank Curious744921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Having read many books about the war and the D-Day offensive, I was thrilled to be here. It did not disappoint, but i was surprised by the beauty of the place. Walking on Omaha Beach at low tide in the morning will be a live long memory.

Thank Majulamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

If you're planning on seeing the memorial, I'd recommend walking some of the beaches involved in D-Day as well. It was an emotional, surreal experience that was very humbling and fulfilling, and I would've liked to have spent more time there if I could. There is so much to learn and appreciate about this piece in history. It is definitely worth your time if you are going to be in the Normandie region.

1  Thank keshia929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

A stunning beach , but a hard realisation of what must have happened to all those service personnel that landed there in d.day. Not much cover at all, ....sitting ducks comes to mind.
The museum there is worth a look in with an old bomber plane and truck in a hanger made with an original hunger shell from the day. I thought An unusual shape. Lots more bits to see

Enjoy your visit.

1  Thank margaret julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We went from Paris to Normandy Beaches D Day tour on Blue Fox Travel full day tour with Lisa as our guide. A fabulous and informative day. Lisa was an excellent guide and shared her passion of WWII history and French culture with us in an interesting and fun way. Highly recommend.

1  Thank emilylindsay2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

This is such an emotional experience. Be sure you are there at 5:00 p.m. The flags are lowered and TAPS is played. I can guarantee there is not a dry eye in the house. I still have goosebumps when I think about it.

2  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

It is good that you can get down to and on the beaches used in the Normandy invasion and try and imagine what went on there. A very humbling experience.

1  Thank nriemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Doesn't matter your nationality or age - this is a must-do. To actually see the beaches where so many brave soldiers from many countries landed is very moving. Of course now they are just attractive seaside areas, but get a visual idea of those terrible days 70 years ago from visiting the local museums, seeing old films, etc.

3  Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Incredible to walk the beaches which led to the end of ww2. The tides ebb and flow considerably, leaving 500 yards of beach at low tide (when allied forces first hit the beach). 175,000 personnel landed, with approximately 5,000 killed that day (most at Omaha beach). Eleven months later, the war was over.

1  Thank Dude12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews