We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“D-day beaches with the Caen Memorial” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)

D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)
Book In Advance
More Info
$215.34*
and up
Small-Group Normandy D-Day Beaches Day Trip with Omaha Beach, American Cemetery...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“D-day beaches with the Caen Memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We took a tour from Caen Memorial Museum and it was fantastic! Due to bad weather (heavy rain in Caen but nothing on the beaches luckily) there was not many people not even in the museum and the two of us were the only ones to see the beaches, so it turned out we had a private tour and it was excellent!
You can take the tour after you check out the museum and then both the exhibition and tour are around €60 (we had a discount card from our hotel and I think many hotels have it in Caen, you just have to ask) and the museum is definitely worth seeing.
The tour lasts 5 hours and there are 4 stops (Point du Hoc, Omaha beach, American cemetery, a place with bunkers still having tanks inside, Arromanches - the view on the artificial port made by Allies) as well as drive along the beaches. Our lady guide was fantastic, she was driving, explaining and giving us photos all in the same time :D
I highly recommend to everyone, we wanted to rent a car at first and do it all ourselves but this was much better!
Since it's a whole day trip (tour starts at 1pm and ends at 6) you can also have lunch in the Memorial's restaurant or cafeteria. The later is a bit expensive but the choice of food is great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank karlek514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    30
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“John Flahherty and Handmaid Tours”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although very knowledgeable about Dday, I would not recommend John. He was very expensive and despite numerous email exchanges, we felt he gave us a pat tour and not personalized . My 23 year old son is a WWII expert and disappointedly, John didn't play off of this at all.

We had John booked for 2 days and during our 1st day, he told us he couldn't make the 2nd day. We understand things happen but he charged us his very high rate for both days and had a colleague come to take us around on day 2. While the other man was a very personable, he was not as informative nor accurate (i.e., he said De Gaulle was leader of Vichy government) with his information as we expected and deserved. It was not appropriate that we paid the same fee for our second day for someone who shared incorrect information. Additionally, John hadn't bothered to tell the 2nd guide where we had gone on day 1 so the 2nd guide was quite flustered when we told him we had seen the American sector and he seemed appropriately put out as he had planned to take us there. The 2nd guide even said that had he known what we had planned to see the day we spent with him, we could have met him somewhere and thus taken one car instead, my husband used our rental to follow the guide from place to place--beyond inefficient!
Try another guide, you will happy you did.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank jasper25rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must visit..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A must drive along the D Day beaches to experience from St Mere Eglise to Juno Beach...A very unforgettable experience....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The beaches are very accessible. The information is very good. If you have any interest in WW2 and the history of the world you have to visit here. Just stand on the beaches and let it all sink in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank toberwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“I'll never forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were tremendously moved during our walk along the landing beaches and Pointe du Hoc. To think of the strength and resolve of the troops as they faced such resistance and in many cases almost certain death. We stood in the surf and looked back to the land and could not begin to appreciate what must have gone through their minds when they stormed the beaches. When we went to the American cemetery and saw all the crosses and stars of David I felt like touching each one and saying a quiet thank you for their ultimate sacrifice.
The museum was also excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RERD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie) also viewed

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Cricqueville-en-Bessin, Calvados
 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to D-Day Beaches (Plages du Debarquement de la Bataille de Normandie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing