We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening”
Review of La part des Anges

La part des Anges
Ranked #179 of 1,554 Restaurants in Lille
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux Lille 3
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a fascinating restaurant/wine bar. When we went the tables on the street and in the downstairs bar were all full, but we had arranged to have dinner in the restaurant. We had seen a tasting menu on their web, with accompanying wines and expected to have that. But, even better. We simply chose from the food menu and then Romain chose wines for us to enhance the food. And didn't he choose well! We are usually very wary about letting someone choose wines for us, as they tend to really bump up the price, but not here. They were all less than E3 per generous glass. The food was good too, and certainly plentiful. Can't recommend this too highly. It would also be good if you just wanted some wine and a snack. Their list of wines by the glass is the most comprehensive we have seen, and they had an incredible list of bottles too (some of which were eye-wateringly expensive. Do try this when in Lille.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    159
    49
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I took two French friends: we were concerned that they should enjoy lunch, as they had driven some way to meet us. In the event, I need not have worried at all: the food was excellent, and we allowed the knowledgeable staff to choose our wine for each course - which they did impeccably. The starters were delicious and beautifully arranged; we all had different main courses, and everyone was happy. The moelleux au chocolat for pudding was simply outstanding, and my husband pronounced the creme caramel which came with his café gourmand one of the best he had had. One of our French friends remarked that normally, there was always something during a meal with which he could find fault, but today, he had nothing but praise for the food and the service. We enjoyed ourselves enormously.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“tasty wine!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

large choice of wine, nice food.
when I went the service was too slow but because of the food I forgive them
the way they did this restaurant is very unique
a very nice place to go with friends or business partner.
also good point the restaurant is open on sunday night

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“wine drinkers heaven”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been here a few times now and is the perfect place to come to after a meal for your cheese and wine. Excellent wine choice at a very reasonable price. Its nice to be able to sample all these good wines by the glass and they do a very mean cheese board! Good service (someone is always cleaning glasses) my first choice for after dinner drinks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK but not amazing”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had a fish dish which was advertised as being accompanied by mini vegetables - and they turned out to be one asparagus tip, two peas and a sliver of carrot! The fish was over cooked and there was only a dribble of sauce, too.. That being said, the wine selection is excellent and I really like the building and the location in the old town is also great... Maybe a better venue for wine and the excellent charcuterie and cheese boards that we've had on other occasions than for dining? Although in fairness the experience I describe was towards the end of a busy Saturday lunch service, so may not be a typical experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La part des Anges also viewed

 

Been to La part des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing