We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't meet Accor's standards at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adagio Access Lille Vauban
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Doesn't meet Accor's standards at all”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As an frequent traveller with Accor Hotels, this hotel was a total deception. As an former Citéa-hotel, it doesn't meet the usual Accor standards at all.

On arrival, the clerk told an English speaking family that he didn't speak English, so I thought that I had to speak French with him. After checking in, and placing our car in the (very) spacious car park, which is about the best thing of the hotel, I called the complaint-service of Accor Hotels, who were able to help. After that phone-call, the clerk was able to speak English.

The first room we've entered smelled really bad, the bath was old and the kitchen didn't look too well. The room was'nt really well cleaned and was situated on the ground floor which is very noisy, because of the people who live there. Beside the fact that the building is used as an apartmentbuilding for asylum-seekers and foreign students, there aren't that much hotel visitors.

After we complained to the clerk, we got to choose another room, which was better, but still noisy in the evenings. The room wasn't cleaned well as well.

We didn't use the breakfast. There is a little "Petit Casino"-supermarket around the corner, which is overpriced, but has got everything you need to cook.

The only positive point of the hotel was the refund that the hotel gave us after complaining to the general manager.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: When you're are going here at all, choose a room on the 3th, 4th, or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    108
    94
    39
    13
See reviews for
72
102
33
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I got this on a half price deal so paid less than £100 for 3 nights. At that price , I was prepared to accept the downsides but would have complained had I paid the full listed price of over £50 per night.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the reception area is plain but fine. I didn't use the breakfast facilities so can't comment on that.

My room, 447, was in a rather tired block. THe lift was scuffed and scratched inside and the main door to the block didn't lock, so the building didn't feel as secure as I would have liked.

The room itself looked better in daylight but in the evening, the lighting was quite dull and the melamine furniture dark brown so it felt quite drab and a bit depressing. Both in the bathroom and the main room, some of the furniture had bits of melamine peeling and the large kitchen cupboard's shelves were not well fitted with gaps, although everything was clean. A full length mirror would have been useful.

That said, the carpet did have stains on it and on entering the room, it had a very strong smell of stale tobacco, which was helped by leaving the windows open all the time but was still noticeable on entering the room.

The shower cubicle was very small, so it was a constant battle to get de-stuck from the curtain but again it was clean and worked well.

An advantage is free on street parking, if you canget a space. And plenty of places to eat and a decent supermarket within a couple of minutes walk.

Alll in all, if you're on a tight budget, get a discount rate and just need somewher to sleep, it'll do but if my room is the same as the others, it needs attention to warrant the full price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank SussexMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lille hotels

Mauriac, France
Level Contributor
361 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was handy for both the new and old towns of Lille as they were both a short walk away. It's not somewhere i'd want to spend more than two nights but it served well as a functional, stop-over hotel. The management were very helpful and there were sufficient kitchen facilities to get your own breakfast or snack meal. It's not somewhere for a romantic weekend but its very handy for a city visit - and we were very impressed with the old city of Lille.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room as the sound of early-risers luggage being trundled along the grav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We paid 210 euros for 6 nights which seemed very reasonable (breakfast not included though). The room was very clean, even the dishes and cutlery were properly cleaned and we had a new sponge and tea towel to do the washing up with. Someone below wrote that it was noisy, but we didn't have any problems with noise, couldn't hear much from outside at all!
Staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful, location very convenient.

The only problem was the bed - it's obviously a matter of preference but for us the mattress was way too hard, we struggled to sleep well and woke up with sore shoulders (we like to sleep on our sides). So that was a bit annoying, but on the whole it was a pleasant stay and I'll be sure to check out other hotels in this chain in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had 5 nights in Lille to explore the city, relax and get up to scratch with my French. The main city is a 10-15 minute pleasant walk from the hotel down the Rue Nationale or a 5 minute wander to the Citadelle. Buses are available from Rue Nationale to the city. A street of restaurants and bars are near by a block or 2 away. Street very quiet during the night so no problem with sleep. Clean bathroom on arrival, bed comfortable, wardrobe, tv, table and chairs and a lovely little kitchen area with a fridge. Big for one maybe just a little small for a couple for 5 nights but for 2 or 3 would beperfect.

Staff were very helpful. A couple did speak English very well, but I asked them not too!

Perhaps just a little over priced but as I've travelled a lot and I can not grumble with how clean and friendly towards me. Didn't have breakfast as I wanted to try locally so I can't comment for the bar area!

No pool or fitness area so that's the reason for low grade!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Probably better than average.

Good central location - only 10 mins walk from christmas markets and main centre.

Apartment was small but very funtional, with nice little, equipped kitchen.

Advantage of parking on site was a plus

Good breakfast at very reasonable price of Euro 7.70

I thought a little expensive as we have stayed in more modern apartments for about 25% less in price. But was well located.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same although the 1 bed apartment is a very good size ( but obviuosly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_bayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked a 2-room apartment for one night so that our daughter could sleep in a separate room without us disturbing her. On arrival there was a "technical problem" which meant we were put into a very small one-room apartment instead. Whereas €60 seemed a bargain for what we booked, it was expensive for what we got.

The room was quiet and quite clean but very small and very dated indeed - saggy bed, very small bathroom etc.

On the plus side, the staff were quite pleasant and the hotel was well located: it certainly didn't feel unsafe walking around at night and it was a 15-minute stroll to the Grand Place. But I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
Flandre
Best Hotel Lille/Gambetta
Hotel Calm
#49 of 106 in Lille
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Lille Vauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Lille Vauban

Property: Adagio Access Lille Vauban
Address: 17 rue Colson, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Citea Lille Vauban)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Lille Vauban 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Access Lille Vauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citea Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing