We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, spacious and great customer service”
Review of Calm Appart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calm Appart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, modern, spacious and great customer service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Calm apartthotel and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly as we arrived by train earlier that the check in-time. They allowed us to check-in earlier as our room was ready. We found the room to be very spacious, the bed comfortable. We were able to make a few meals in the kitchen and although the utensils are at a minimum they are more than enough to make a simple meal.

The cleaning staff were great and got us an iron and hairdryer within minutes of asking as we didn't have these items. the room size surprised my European boyfriend as it was bigger than your average hotel room in France. Overall, great value for money and the proximity to the train station is great when you have so much luggage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
74
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived early (10.45 am) and were able to leave our bags, the hotel then phoned us about an hour later advising that we could check in.

Initially we were a little disappointed. We had booked a superior room. It was described as having a living area, which we took to mean a 2 room apartment with separate bedroom. However, it is a studio. The bed, living area and kitchen is all in one room. There was a small wooden table with 2 chairs and a rather low armchair. Beds were 2 twins pushed together. Mattresses were on the firm side, but the bed was comfortable. The kitchenette was basically furnished, but enough to prepare simple meals. There was some outside noise at night and street cleaners early in the morning. Also on the Friday morning from about 9.15 am there was a bit of noise from the cleaners who congregated on the landing.

The apartments are easy to find, the receptionists were pleasant, email contact good and prompt. After the initial disappointment of not having a separate bedroom area, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

We tried the restaurant next to the hotel,and have an enjoyable "cheap" lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiraz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Lots of nice things here - the brilliant location just minutes from the Eurostar and domestic rail stations, and just minutes from Lille old town, is the obvious one. But also worth mentioning the very helpful staff, the free wifi, and the clean well-appointed rooms. Just ignore the sex shop round the corner! (though we never felt unsafe in the area or anything - Lille felt very safe).

Room Tip: To make the keycode work, we had to first enter it when the door was open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TootingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is just minutes away from Gare de Lille Europe and Gare de Lille Flandres, with Euralille shopping complex just across the road. It is so convenient!

The hotel is very clean with friendly staff who speak good English. It also has free wifi. However, as my room was on the third floor (unfortunately the lift only went up to the 2nd floor), the wifi signal was pretty poor. I was only able to pick up the signal sitting next to the door!

The room was much bigger than expected, with a comfortable bed and sofa bed in the living area. There is a small kitchen with all the necessary equipment if you want to do self catering. The bathroom had both a bath and a shower.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maroon_calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely apartment-style hotel, very close to the train station (If you're coming from the Eurostar, walk over the bridge and turn right at the 'Napoleon' pub - just a few seconds along the road). Nicely decorated with Ikea-style furniture and features. We liked the hand-shaped coathanger! Small handy kitchen in the room and very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: The area around the hotel is a little seedy and our first floor window (room 14) looked out onto a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Lille. The location is brilliant - opposite to the station, 5 mins walk to the old town and also a 5 min walk to Carrefour and the adjoining shopping centre. The hotel itself is comfortable, spacious and has plenty of amenities (the small kitchen was a very pleasant surprise). There is also free wifi. The breakfast at €12 is a little pricy (you can get an adequate breakfast for €5 at several nearby bars ad restaurants but other than that I can't fault this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is excellent, just facing the Gare de Flandres but since it is located in a small road, it is very quite. The sound proof is very good. Hotel new and very clean. It is an aparthotel but there is a cleaning service. Staff are friendly. Facilities are very new. Room is spacious. Toiletry is basic, just with shampoo and shower gel. But it is ok cos more environmental friendly.

The elevator just reaches to 2nd floor and my room is located in 3rd floor so I have to carry my luggage to walk up the stair case. If go with young kids, elderly or ppl with limited mobility. Must tell the reception of the concern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#15 of 107 in Lille
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.3 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#9 of 107 in Lille
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calm Appart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calm Appart Hotel

Property: Calm Appart Hotel
Address: 2 rue des Buisses, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm Apparthotel is situated in Lille, in only 2 minutes by foot of the historic center, the station and the subway station of Lille-Flandres. A Wi-Fi connection is provided with free of charge. The contemporary apartments of the Calm Apartment hotel are decorated in neutral tones. Each has a kitchen area, flat-screen television, office and privative bathroom provided with a shower. You can prepare your meals in your deprived kitchen area equipped with a cook, with an oven microwave and a refrigerator. Restaurants and supermarkets wait for you unless 5 minutes on foot. The airport of Lille-Lesquin is in 15 minutes and the citadel of Lille is 2 km. The apartment hotel possesses a private, accessible parking with extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Calm Appart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing