We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and modern design, though expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Cool and modern design, though expensive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had to order that hotel without choice. But no dissapointment from my side.
I just want to conclude that the price is too high. Even no breakfast for 130-170 Euro per night. Too much.

From the other hand - perfecly located in the center of the city, this is modern hotel with cool design wonderfull equipment of the rooms (including doc-station for Ipad/apple devices, nespresso, LCD TV and etc, whenever you wanna). Absolutely friendly staff and cleanliness.
Fast service and no problems for all days.
I can recommend that hotel if you have enough money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    285
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
105
550
31
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

WE loved this hotel in Lille, with its coffee maker, its ambiently lit super shower, the free mini bar and it's overall all 70's flair. Comfy, central to everything including super brilliant sushi bars, lovely convenience supermarket. It's a great place to stay. We didn't have breakfast there but got some baked goods from Pauls bread shop, but it did look very yummy indeed. We will be back! Fancy, a trendy Best Western!!!

Room Tip: We had room with large round windows on the third floor, great outlook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgrunfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Selected this hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor. Stayed here for 5 nights in September, on business trip.
Location: a quiet part the inner city, located amongst some residential apartments, but right within the shopping district. 3 min walk to Rihour Metro station.

Room: located on top floor, this is a small hotel, with maybe 36 rooms. I had a slightly larger room looking at the hotel floor map, with area off to the site to sit. Full window views of the town, very quiet at night. Unfortunately my air conditioning was not working all week, but luckily, the weather was cool. I hope this is fixed. The bed is extremely comfortable, noise insulation in room is excellent. Very small desk area, which contains a nespresso machine. Small cupboard space, which stocks the safe and a mini-fridge. The mini-bar is stocked with some drinks which is complimentary - a very nice touch. Bathroom is small, but had a largish shower, water pressure average, but hot water available. The room has an overall funky feel, with some LED lights that change color (fortunately can switch this off). TV moderate size, with minimal english channels (BBC/CNN)

Breakfast: 14 euro, great buffet selection of meat, cheese, breads, fried breakfast.

Reception staff: spoke excellent English, very helpful with directions and recommendations.

Gym: in lower level, small with 2 bikes, cross trainer, home gym machine. Fresh bottles of water made available, and airconditioned.

Overall: wound rated the experience higher, if air conditioning was working, otherwise, would definitely stay again. Love the location, and price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here on 8th September 2013. The location of the hotel is excellent - based right in the middle of everything. The hotel does have its own, very secure, parking which is located in an underground car park across the road from the hotel. For the parking you will need to get a door fob from reception to open the carpark door; cost is 16 euros per day. The reception area is very welcoming with various seating areas (inside and out). On checking in you will be asked if you want a password for wifi - this is free. The room was great - 2 double beds, separate toilet, mini bar (free), approx 50inch flat-screen tv, docking station/clock, coffee/tea machine, telephone and self adjustable air-con/heating. The bathroom is amazing with large rainfall shower and also massage shower, mood lighting, hairdryer, toilettries, towels, dressing gowns and slippers etc etc. Room service is available although we did not use this. Wake up calls are available - you can either set this up yourself via the telephone or reception will set it up for you. There is a bar just off reception - we did not use this. Breakfast was available but we decided to walk to the cafes and have breakfast in the centre of lille.
All-in-all we would certainly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

One point to note - on checkout we were charged 4.95 euro city tax. We do not know what this was for as the receptionist did not explain. We were only there for one night so not sure if this is charged per night or as a set charge per stay or maybe it was for the parking - in any event we were not told about this charge until checkout

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent all-round experience. Staff, rooms, comfort and location. Quirky interiors style, boutique feel and great little details like L'occitane products, robe and slippers, free mini-bar and Nespresso machine. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The mini-bar really is free and re-stocked daily. We didn't believe it at first, thinking it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyandDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre M, Responsable Hébérgement at Best Western Premier Why Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for staying with us, for your review and for your high marks.
We really are delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you soon.

Thanks again.

Best regards,

Pierre & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting the antiques fair, it is clean and central and the breakfast choice is good if you feel you can eat alot in the morning to justify the price. Room size was good and bed was comfortable,however lack of wardrobe and storage space and nowhere to put cases once unpacked. The bathroom was design led rather than practical, the side of the bath was very high and there was no shower curtain/screen so the water ran onto the floor, hence the skirting boards were rotting, the sink had no plug or anyway to retain water.The minibar didnt work and we reported this every day, also one bedside light didnt work and wasnt fixed during our stay. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but we were refused a drink in the bar at 11 o clock on the Friday night as the barman wanted to close, as residents we thought this was bad practice, we also sat outside on the Sunday afternoon and we asked for a drink, it was 5 o clock in the afternoon and we were told no because they had been very busy with the Braderie and were tired!. My friend went and explained to them how unreasonable this was and we did get served. Also watch for car parking fees as we were not told we had to pay and upon checking out it transpired that we had been charged 15 euros a day.There was no room service or use of the gym during our stay because of the Braderie, which was not stated on the website. Would we use again, I am afraid not and the couple we travelled with would also go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am writing this as I sit at the desk in my hotel room in Lille counting the hours until we can leave this dismal city. We came here via Brugge solely on recommendations found on Trip Advisor and I am sorry to say after years of depending on Trip Advisor, this is the first time it has let us down.
I am prefacing my hotel recommendation with this in attempts to separate my utter shock over the city versus the quality of this hotel. First, I simply can not imagine why ANYONE would come to Lille on holiday. It is a dirty industrial city with VERY LITTLE TOURISM and even less to do. After being stuck here for 3 days, I can see why the agent in the Tourist Center could not make any recommendations as to what we could do doing our stay....THERE IS NOTHING. We tried to make the best of things and headed to what was touted as a quaint lively area of the city filled with shops and cafes. "Old Town" only to find a deserted area with almost everything boarded up. Honestly we felt like we were the victims of a bad joke. Lest I digress... If you DO have the misfortune to end up in Lille...the WHY Hotel is not a half bad choice. To start, it is NOT a "luxury" hotel, but rather a very well appointed chain property, but it will meet your needs nicely. The rooms are exactly as they appear in the promo photos and are clean, modern, and well appointed. The bed is comfortable albeit the comforter far too heavy to sleep comfortably in the summer (a/c not up to par). If I have to find fault with anything in the room it would be the poor bathroom lighting (impossible to see to put make-up on), the lack of English programing on the TV, and complete absence of any clothing storage space. We asked if there were luggage racks available and there were none, so we kept our suitcases on the floor and lived out of them. Not ideal
Be mindful that the hotel restaurant is limited to about 4 entree choices as is the room service menu and breakfast is only served until 10:00. Great if you are here on business...not so great if here on holiday. I might also add that the location of the hotel is at a four point corner of an industrial looking area. Trash blowing around the streets with the smell of sewage. Too seedy to venture out at night and quite desolate.

We also did not fin the staff to be helpful to be honest. We are easy guests and really roll with things but found the staff unwelcoming and unfriendly. Upon check in, we asked for any recommendations of what we might want to see while in Lille and were told, "I don't know". We called about a question regarding our TV and were told, "I don't know." We waited 45 minutes in the hotel restaurant and when it was clear no one was going to offer us a menu we left and went to a sandwich shop across the street...All just not consistent with other reviews and of complete surprise to us. In fact, after arriving and scoping out the area, we wanted to cut our visit short and head elsewhere. The desk clerk indicated that we just needed to let them know by 6 pm prior to wanting to make the change, only to later find out that this was not possible without loosing all the monies already paid for the room. Trapped...we tried to make the best of it but truthfully, we will kick ourselves for a long time for coming here. It would appear that this stay was doomed from the start. If you come, I wish you luck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 107 in Lille
1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Why Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Why Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Address: 7 Bis Square Morisson, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Why Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Lille, this newly opened contemporary design hotel offers en suite comfortable accommodation, with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception in a unique distinctive building. All of the rooms at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel have an elegant, original decor and wooden floors. Each room features a desk, an iPod(R) docking station and a flat-screen television with cable channels. A mini-bar and a Nespresso(R) coffee machine are also provided for your convenience. A buffet breakfast is served every morning in the communal lounge or in the comfort of your room. Guests can also lunch at the hotel's restaurant, or enjoy a refreshment from the beautiful bar. Parking is available at cost. Rooms for guests with reduced mobility are also available. The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel has a fully equipped boardroom, available for meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Why Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing