We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

One night en route stay over pre-booked.
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the main square, shops, bars, restaurants and Lille-Flandres train station.
On arrival at appx 7pm we parked in the hotels secure underground car park some 20m from the hotel – cost 16Euros but for peace of mind it was the only option as whilst this isn’t the Bronx it also isn’t Disneyland. Money well spent for those en route elsewhere.
We were booked in by an extremely pleasant English speaking receptionist and made our way up to floor 6 to a great room and even greater bathroom – the shower is exceptionally good!
All credit to the management for the high quality bathroom bits and bobs they supply – a really quality touch!
We ate out nearby in the evening went for an early morning walk and got brekky.crissants from Paul’s due to time restraints and brought it back to the room although the buffet looked very good quality and wasn’t a rip off price.
The rooms are modern and now quite commonplace through Europe, the cleanliness at the WHY was however exceptional- housekeeping and management should be complimented,
The complimentary mini bar and Nespresso coffee machine, with its accessories, were as expected and as the blurb had confirmed but the former only contained 2 cans of lager and a few soft drinks all alas warm, if they were supposed to have been in a fridge then it didn’t work..

Glad we stayed there and will do so again if passing through Lille.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were booked in to stay in this hotel for one night. On arrival we were booked in by an extremely pleasant receptionist and immediately the manager came to speak to us. It was raining cats and dogs and thundering and lightning so hard that the windows leaked near the table we were sitting at for a drink, and he very kindly sent us a complimentary glass of wine over !. and that was the atmosphere of the evening. When we did venture out and had a good walk around this lovely town, we discovered lots of places to eat, but because we had been delayed by the storm we didn`t really have the opportunity to sample much, thus we decided we might stay for another night to discover a bit more. However, for breakfast, we decided to go into the nearby street cafe rather than pay 14 euro`s 90. We had breakfast which consisted of a crepe and a coffee, and paid twice as much as what we would have done had we stayed in the hotel - that`s called, `being clever`. Perhaps had we gone further afield instead of finding the first place that we could, it might have proved more reasonable, and more `typical French` In pursuit of another bargain ! I decided to try another hotel to see if we could find one any cheaper. Having walked into the most interesting part of the city, which was obviously Flemish in architecture and so pretty, I checked out the Ibis (2 star).thinking that we would be nearer the evening culture. I say this a bit tongue in cheek, but I could not wait to get back to Hotel Why, (with a very long suffering partner, who just asks "Why" ) ? - to ensure we could have our room back again for the second night. !, but anyway, it was a good experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenience, the hotel itself is lovely...and Oh - the rain shower in the en suite is `superrb`.

Room Tip: Room 601. Great view........top floor, looks right probably one of the best thoroughfares in Lille.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow, this hotel is simply stunning.
We received a genuine warm greeting even though we were a bit early.
We had booked inter connecting rooms but, as one wasn't ready due to our earliness, we were given access to the one that was ready so we could freshen up and leave our bags.
The rooms are absolutely the best I've ever stayed in with fantastic design and fittings.
We were in 301, which probably has the coolest, largest bath tub you have ever seen, and 302 which has a fabulous shower with a rainshower head.
Beautifully comfortable beds, a nespresso machine and even a complimentary mini-bar completed the room nicely.
Breakfast was top for service, choice and quality.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked hotel 20 minutes before arrival there, all paperwork was ready and receptionist welcomed us. Room was spotless, free mini bar, coffee machine and wifi made the cost worthwhile. Great location with numerous bars and restaurants nearby although fond it difficult to find somewhere for breakfast away from the hotel. Overall would highly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemonieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved every minute of our weekend break at this small but very lovely hotel. As regular travellers, we knew, the minute we walked into the hotel, that we'd made the right choice. We were greeted by the most welcoming reception staff who checked us in very quickly and made us feel welcome. Our corner room on the third floor fully met our expectation - very modern, spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard, along with an impressive wet room. The complimentary mini bar, and Nespresso coffee machine, with its accessories, were unexpected and most appreciated. Breakfast was enjoyable, although the restaurant was hot and humid due to evaporation from an open pan which was boiling eggs.

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the main square, shops, bars, restaurants and Lille-Flandres train station (if travelling by rail, please check opening hours of train stations - e.g., Calais train station closes around 9pm and there are no trains to Paris or Lille until the following morning!)

Finally, many thanks to the hotel manager, Mr Martins, who demonstrated good management skills in his handling and resolution of all issues resulting from our late arrival in Lille due to unforseen circumstances. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel, and happily recommend it to friends and family!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, on higher floors - it's light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandI_SouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A lot of good things have been written about this hotel and I can understand why. However, when friends tried to check out at 6:30 in the morning (to get an early Eurostar to London) they were told that they needed to pay a substantial amount of money when the room had already been paid for in advance. This resulted in me being dragged down to reception (at 6:30 am) to deal with the situation.
In order for my friends to be allowed to leave the hotel, I had to give my credit card details to the receptionist who wrote down my card details (including the security code). I suspect that this is illegal.
So in summary, good hotel and the facilities are OK but be careful as their systems are not good and when they go wrong common sense goes right out the window.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay here. Everything was of a high standard. Our classic room was ideal, very good shower, extremely comfy beds and quiet. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.The courtesy mini bar was a nice touch. The reception staff were always helpful and friendly. The hotel's position was very good just a short walk to the main square and the old town. The bar's patio area was lovely ,unfortunately several thunderstorms made it rather wet!!! We would definitely use this hotel again and recommend it to people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 107 in Lille
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#16 of 107 in Lille
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Why Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Why Hotel

Address: 7 Bis Square Morisson, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: $108 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Why Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Lille, this newly opened contemporary design hotel offers en suite comfortable accommodation, with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception in a unique distinctive building. All of the rooms at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel have an elegant, original decor and wooden floors. Each room features a desk, an iPod(R) docking station and a flat-screen television with cable channels. A mini-bar and a Nespresso(R) coffee machine are also provided for your convenience. A buffet breakfast is served every morning in the communal lounge or in the comfort of your room. Guests can also lunch at the hotel's restaurant, or enjoy a refreshment from the beautiful bar. Parking is available at cost. Rooms for guests with reduced mobility are also available. The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel has a fully equipped boardroom, available for meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Premier Why Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing