We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks deceive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Looks deceive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

As others have reported the facade of the Why is unusual and the square in which it's situated is not the prettiest but that's all forgotten as soon as you walk in. Every member of staff were polite and extremely helpful, the beds were too comfortable for their own good - we didn't want to get up! The breakfast did seem steep at €14 but we took a look at it and the section & quality were superb. My only criticism would be that the deluxe room lacked storage for 4 guests, fine for 1-2 nights but that would be it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    274
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
99
526
29
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wherever
Level Contributor
209 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

It is easy to see why the BW Premier Hotel Why is#1 of the hotels in Lille.

The rooms are high-tech functioning works of art. The staff are friendly and it is located close to a wide variety of restaurants and also the Fine Art Museum which is first class.

It also boasts the best Irish Coffee I have had in many a long year.

We did not have the breakfast which at €14 seemed a bit expensive compared to what was on offer in the local establishments.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre M, Gérant at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us.
Thanks also for taking time and trouble to share your experience with the world on tripadvisor.
We really do appreciate.
Our clients are after all our best sales team (great review title by the way)!

Regarding breakfast: yes, ours is not cheap but we believe our offer can hardly been bettered. it consists of finest breads, baguettes, cakes and pastries made with love by our own baker, Designy butter, traditional jams, regional delicacies, finest Italian coffee, Van Houten hot chocolate and apple, carrot, grapefruit or orange juices. Not to mention the selection of quality sourced (from our best suppliers) smoked salmon, meats and cheeses.
Makes for a great start of the day and, we trust, at 14€, is pretty good value.
You could maybe give it a try it on your next trip!

Thanks again.

Best regards,

Pierre & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I found this hotel on line and booked it because of the rave reviews. Initially, it didn't particularly attract us, and our room was very small. After a night in the comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast the following morning, we were hooked. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and throughout our stay(6 nights)we felt more and more at home. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and Lille as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre M, Gérant at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay, your review, your high marks and for recommending the hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed our establishment, especially over a week long stay.

You are right, our rooms are not huge (compared to American standards), but they are so bright (thanks to our distinctive oval shaped windows) and well designed, that you would never feel cramped in them.

We look forward to maybe welcoming you back.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Pierre & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in the Best Western Why.

The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of the city and is an easy 15 minute walk from Lille Europe station for the Eurostar.

We upgraded to a deluxe room and were very impressed with the facilities including good widescreen TV with English channels, posh coffee machine, cordless phone, free minibar and an amazing shower.

The staff were very helpful throughout our stay and I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davepovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night having driven over via the Eurotunnel. We have travelled widely and stayed in many hotels. This is very good. The service is attentive, not imposing and very friendly. Our room was a deluxe double room on the 1st floor. Initially we were concerned it might be noisy but it wasn’t; well sound-proofed and, in any case, it wasn’t too busy outside at night. There is parking for €16 per night (only 8 spaces) which we used. Be warned, when we first drove up we found enterprising locals “reserving” public metered parking spaces hoping to get us to pay them a tip. It was a Saturday, so perhaps that won’t happen so much on week days. Certainly on the Sunday, when Lille is very quiet, this had stopped.

Our room was excellent with a huge rain shower, bug bathroom and comfortable bed. The decoration was high quality and there was a complementary mini bar and coffee. The breakfast was good. Well stocked with bread, cheeses, meats, cereals, pastries, fresh juices, fruit, and yoghurts. Nothing unexpected, but nothing missing you might expect. Coffee was good.

The location is great, close to the centre and about a 10 minute walk from the beautiful old part of Lille. The square around the hotel isn’t particularly attractive, but not very noisy which is good. It’s not really close to the Eurostar station, but that area’s not the most attractive part of Lille in any case, so staying somewhere else is probably better.

All in all an excellent hotel that deserves its good reviews. We would come back when we visit Lille again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shacklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was a bit hesitant in booking this hotel as the exterior pictures made it look a bit dated. However, I shouldn't have been worried - this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a long time. The staff and very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very well appointed and clean. Location is fantastic for the middle of Lille with many fine restaurants close by. Parking can be a bit troublesome, but this is a minor issue. Excellent value for money and a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I first reviewed the hotel shortly after it had opened. All the teething problems have been resolved. Modern well equipped rooms with excellent shower facilities. They also seem well sound insulated. The staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast excellent. Well located in Lille.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEBALDMANOFKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
#7 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
Address: 7 B Square Morisson | 7 Bis Square Morisson, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Lille, this newly opened contemporary design hotel offers en suite comfortable accommodation, with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception in a unique distinctive building. All of the rooms at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel have an elegant, original decor and wooden floors. Each room features a desk, an iPod(R) docking station and a flat-screen television with cable channels. A mini-bar and a Nespresso(R) coffee machine are also provided for your convenience. A buffet breakfast is served every morning in the communal lounge or in the comfort of your room. Guests can also lunch at the hotel's restaurant, or enjoy a refreshment from the beautiful bar. Parking is available at cost. Rooms for guests with reduced mobility are also available. The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel has a fully equipped boardroom, available for meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing