We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Excellent!”
Review of L'Esplanade Lille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Esplanade Lille
Ranked #4 of 42 Lille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tres Excellent!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights, and we had a fantastic time. Rooms are large and comfortable, the owner was in every single details, and breakfast is awesome!!! Location great, near Vieux Lille (walking distance) and opposite La Citadelle for great summer time park enjoyment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torcuatense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel E, Propriétaire at L'Esplanade Lille, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Google Translation
Quel plaisir de lire que vous ayez passé un agréable moment en notre compagnie.
Je suis particulièrement touché par vos commentaires et vous remercie très sincèrement de les avoir partagé avec nous.
Nous espérons vous accueillir très prochainement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
83
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geervliet, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a perfect place to stay. Just far enough to escape the busy city and just a 5 minute walk to the centre. If I come back to Lille this is where i will stay! Free parking is available just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel E, Propriétaire at L'Esplanade Lille, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Many thanks for your kind opinion.
We appreciate that your stay at l'Esplanade met your requirements.
Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at l'esplanade with my boyfriend last weekend. The building is fabulous and wows you from the minute you walk in. The house used to belong to a painter and they've continued that theme with huge prints and paintings on many of the walls. It is very tastefully decorated. We stayed in the 'Esplanade' bedroom and had a spectacular view of the esplanade below. Huge bright windows which you can look out while lying in bed - would be lovely in summer when the sun would be beaming through. Very modern bathroom with a 'wet room' rainfall shower. All impeccably clean. Espresso machine + tea/coffee/bottled water all supplied in the room. Wifi worked like a charm.

Breakfast was included in the price and was perfectly good quality, including fresh bread and croissants as well as orange juice that is freshly squeezed in front of you.

Room Tip: L'esplanade was bright and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urrrbanfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel E, Propriétaire at L'Esplanade Lille, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous apprécions grandement vos commentaires positifs sur TripAdvisor, utiles pour nous et pour les autres voyageurs.
Nous espérons que vous pourrez renouveler votre séjour chez nous le plus tôt possible.
Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We LOVE Lille, and this place is on the river close to the historic district and not far from the train station. It's clean, beautiful and interesting at a good price. We just ran into a few things, that were odd. The bathroom was on the main floor and the sink to wash your hands was in the top floor. No lift. Breakfast is not included, so be sure to remember that when breakfast is offered and he takes cash only. Other than these few things it was an amazing stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyandmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Three night stay. location excellent 10 min. walk to most of the areas we wanted to explore. Room excellent on top floor at front. We mid 60 year olds had no problems with the stairs. For the record I counted 81 from pavement level. The owner ( Emanuel) was always around at breakfast and was helpful and easy to talk to.Breakfast 1st class.
If you drive be sure to book a parking place..avoids a lot of hassle.
1 constructive point.. there could do with more light in the bathroom area for makeup( I'm told).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Small, luxurious hotel near the Citadel park (which has a lovely zoo), not far from the city centre. The room was spacious and had a comfortable bed. In the morning we enjoyed a good breakfast (with many sweets) while watching the joggers run through the park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

absolutely beautiful style and decor, no expense spared. good location opposite park, short stroll to vieux lille shops and cafes then centre ville. Well priced, and helpful owners too. deserves to do well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel E, Propriétaire at L'Esplanade Lille, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind advice. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our place and look forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
1.0 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#3 of 107 in Lille
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 107 in Lille
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Esplanade Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esplanade Lille

Property: L'Esplanade Lille
Address: 42 B Facade de l Esplanade | 42b Facade de l'Esplanade, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Esplanade Lille is set in the historic centre of Lille and offers free Wi-Fi access in common areas and heated, soundproofed rooms and studios. It is 1 km from the Citadel of Lille and 1.3 Km from Lille Grand Place.Each accommodation has a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with a hairdryer, bathrobe and free toiletries.You can enjoy the continental breakfast in the lounge or in your room while reading a newspaper. Tea and coffee is available throughout the day, with prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Esplanade Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing