We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel balladins Lille
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Brest, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A basic hotel extremely well placed for visiting Lille and surrounding area. There is a buffet breakfast and helpful staff are available 24 hours.

The room was very clean and the bathroom well thought out to maximise its functionally in a very limited space. That being said, the room was very small but there was enough room for two and we were there to see the city, not the inside of the hotel.

There are plenty of restaurants just at hand and both mainline stations for Lille are within very easy walking distance.

Overall, a good bet for a sightseeing visit.

Room Tip: At eh back, the rooms are very quiet but no view unless you like inner courtyards and kitchen evacua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagalloise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    129
    124
    39
    20
See reviews for
46
130
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is close to Lille Europe with restaurants and cafes around it. Although I must say the location is the saving characteristic of this hotel, it can be a bit disappointing. The room I had was very small. As this seemed to be a budget hotel (I wouldn't know as I booked this in conjunction with Eurostar, which seemed to always give me a wring impression, but that's another story), expect to have a small room a really small table and no kettles or coffees inside the room. I can hear my neighbours conversation! I would have to say that the receptionists are really helpful and nice. I tried their breakfast once, it was good but I would not recommend it. If you are looking for a good deal this is the hotel, clean and convenient, but not for the luxury-inclined travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_is_life1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

For a 4day visit ti Lille we found this ***hotel near the Lille Flanders stations. We came by Thalys and the Lille Europe station is on walking distance. The entrance can be found between two Brasseries. the reception was friendly correct . we were told how to find our room and so we could bring our luggage up the elevator to the fourth floor at the backside. the view out of the window was a sight of some backyards but that didn't matter the room was quiet. there was sufficient room to put down the luggage and walk around. the bathroom was quiet spacious and clean. the only thing was that the cold water tap didn't give cold water for a very,very long time, so I'm afraid that both the hot and the cold water-supply pipes are running very close together.
the breakfast-buffet was very good for a continental breakfast.
This hotel is very near to the town centre Vieux Lille.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KajeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is basic but it is very well placed for a city break being so close to both main stations. The room and shower room were small but very clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. If possible I would suggest asking for a room either at the back of the hotel as noises from outside the hotel in the morning could disturb you if you wanted a lie-in. A room nearer the top of the hotel would also be good. The breakfast options are quite extensive and the lady who we saw in the breakfast room during our stay was very pleasant and helpful. The reception staff were also very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-at-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Essex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a weekend in Lille, and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and particularly the location. It is virtually opposite the station and only a few minutes walk from Eurostar. The old town is closeby and the area was not seedy as some station locations can be. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the station square and it made for great people watching. The room was a small double but perfectly adequate with a walk in power shower. Breakfast was available for ten euro's on a roof top terrace on the second floor.
Lille is a great place for a weekend break, less stressful than Paris, and you can get around easily either by foot or by metro. Restarurants and a good shopping area, plus museums, markets and a lively atmosphere, make for a vibrant place and I would definately go back.
If you like a central hotel, ask for the type of room you want.. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and I would definately recommend if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: If your want to people watch, ask for a room with a view of the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColchesterEssexWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've stayed in Lille several times and some hotels are way away from the action. This one is bang in the middle and you can walk from Eurolille Station with your case on wheels. The shopping centre is across the road; Lille Flanders station is next to you (Take a trip to Courtrai or Ypres) and downstairs is the 3 Brasseurs, who brew their own beer!
Rooms are small. Not much of a view Oh and the lift is miniscule. Breakfast is 10 euros, but eat all you want (French style). Staff are nice and speak good English.
If you book at the right price, well worth it.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the farther from the busy street and nearer to Breakfast (7th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldyzudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is very vey close to Flandes station and Euralille and is ideal for people who want to stay in the city centre area. It is also very close to the Grande Palace and the tourist office. We had a twin room; small but clean and strong wifi. This We did not go for the breakfast option but i think it was around 7-8 euros per person. There are plenty of restaurants within close vicinity of the hotel and most attractions are walking distance away from the hotel. I recommend that you pay a visit to the tourist office where you can book the city tour bus ( a 50 min ride around the main attractions ) for 12 euros. Overall, we had a pleasant and great value stay at this budget hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atishghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#68 of 106 in Lille
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#39 of 106 in Lille
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lille Europe
Hotel Lille Europe
#33 of 106 in Lille
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Napoleon
Le Napoleon
#66 of 106 in Lille
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Calm
Hotel Calm
#49 of 106 in Lille
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Lille

Property: Hotel balladins Lille
Address: 24 Place de la Gare, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Hotel Chagnot)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel balladins Lille 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Lille-Flandres railway station and just 10 minutes on foot from Lille-Europe station, the hotel, now entirely renovated and soundproofed, welcomes you right in the centre of the international business district, a stone's throw from the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel balladins Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Lille Hotel Lille
Chagnot Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing