We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Visiting an Old Friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Having thoroughly enjoyed the experience of a previous stay at this hotel, it was difficult to believe that could be improved upon, but it was. Returning courtesy of a surprise birthday party arranged by my wife, the hotel once again met and exceeded all expectations.

As before, the staff are completely unobtrusive until you need something, and then they are there in an instant to serve you professionally and attentively; nothing is too much trouble. The ambiance of the restaurant provides the perfect backdrop for dinner and, once again, the food couldn’t be faulted, prepared to perfection and served with quiet efficiency.

This hotel became part of the Marriott family earlier this year, but retains its unique charm and individuality, and is looking to expand next year to provide a spa and further accommodation.

My wife and I will certainly return again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesparian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at L'Hermitage as part of a two day/one night package organised through Eurostar and what a great hotel it was. The staff could not have been more helpful and charming and the quality and cleanliness of the Room was first class. The location is perfect for visiting the key attractions (including the Christmas Market) and can be reached on foot (10-15 minute walk) from both train stations. Very few City centre Hotels that I've visited have such great history and character as L'Hermitage and a 'tour' of the property is recommended. If there was one downside it was the lack of any drawer space in the room which, as we were only staying for one night, was not a major issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you stay here you're in for a treat!
An empathetic ally converted ancient hospice the atrium is filled with light and very comfortable dove grey/ blue leather sofas and armchairs.
The rooms are spacious and fully equipped with minibar/ safe coffee making facilities etc. etc and all seem to have a fusion theme of teak and fine fabrics.
Didn't get to eat in the hotels gastronomic restaurant but the associated brasserie just next door served an excellent choice of tasty and well priced dishes. A real must aperitif to try here is white wine with picon.....super tasty!
A slight walk (10 mins) to town centre but very convenient for the grand palais exhibition centre.

Room Tip: We were at the back on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEMAGPIE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Former an "hotel de Dieu" this historical building is very charming and has a special atmosphere. Even though you are not staying there it is a visit worth maybe only for a cup of coffee. The staff is friendly and when you check in they take you for a tour of the historical attractions inside the hotel (small museum, library, art gallery, chapel...). The hotel offers 24 hrs free WiFi and a valet parking service, though you'd better reserve in advance since the hotel parking is quite small. The room are large and foreseen of all conforts. Some rooms are not well located and can be therefore quite noisy.

Room Tip: Be aware that the room with 100numbers might be not well located. They are at the ground floor and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

It is a very historical hotel, I stayed at this hotel for my business trip couple of months ago. I think it is the best hotel in Lille. High celling, traditional decoration was great. It has so much character. If I go back to Lille again it will be the hotel that I chose.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank levy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Exquisite, stylish, comfortable, classy, superb customer service and wonderful, delicious food. Every now and then when travelling on business one stumbles across a gem and truly magical location from which to base one's stay. L'Hermitage Gantois is one such abode. Enjoy this little gem of Lille and you will not be disappointed, unless inclined to be a tad grumpy or extremely spoiled :-)

Room Tip: Skimp on your evening meal the night before. Breakfast is delish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstevea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great historic hotel. Was a Hospice until the mid 1990's when converted to a 5* Hotel. Lovely covered atrium/bar in the centre. Rooms & beds very comfortable and bathrooms spacious. Location was excellent. Approx 10mins from the main square and the same from the Art Museum.

Room Tip: Breakfast was a bit pricey for what you get. Much better wandering into the town for a "Petit D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie186276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#4 of 106 in Lille
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.7 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#3 of 106 in Lille
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Gounod
Villa Gounod
#11 of 106 in Lille
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection

Address: 224 rue de Paris, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#8 Business Hotel in Lille
Price Range: $170 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel for a unique experience…Behind a beautiful flemish and gothic front you will discover a “museum”hotel that will offer you serenity, warm welcome, quality service and goodgastronomic food.Pass the reception and you will find our bar located in a large hall with aglass roof and decorated in a modern style that contrast with the moreclassical structure of our 18th century chapel.The Hermitage Gantois welcomes you in the heart of Lille, between the town centre and thecity hall. Very well located, the hotel is only 5 minutes drive for Lille 2 trains stations and 15 minutes drivefrom the local airport in Lesquin.The hotel was established in a historical monument from the 15th century and is an exceptional mixbetween ancient architecture and modern design. The Hermitage Gantois offers you a special place torelax surrounded by history and modernity. It is the most prestigious address in the north of France and isaccessible in less than an hour and a half from Bruges, Bruxelles, Paris or London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Lille
Exclusive Hotel l Hermitage Gantois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing