We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here recently for five nights. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking one of the beautiful courtyards, and was very comfortable and luxurious, We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and efficient. This is a really beautiful hotel with a lot of historical interest. Pity it is not slightly closer to the centre but it is only a 5-10 minute walk to grand place , which borders the old town. The bar is terrific- based in the biggest courtyard with a glass roof. Like the rest of the hotel it is not cheap, but is well worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    286
    95
    37
    12
See reviews for
99
495
25
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderful three night break. Upgraded before we asked to a beautiful oak pannelled room. Very quiet, impeccable service and luxurious. Only negative I can find, the Croque Monsieur we ate in the bar was simply a toasted sandwich !! However, this slight disappointment did not mar an otherwise wonderful visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suecyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The first night we had a room at the front overlooking the main road and were woken by a street cleaning cart at 5 am. It slowly drove past four times making a low, deep humming sound. In the morning I asked whether we could have another room and the receptionist quickly found us one to which we could move instantly. Great service. The receptionist staff and the porter are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed is very comfortable. We had breakfast on the last morning of our stay. The food was delicious and there was a lot of choice, but there were a few unexpected hitches. When we walked into the room, there was no one to welcome us and after a few moments a waitress in a very short, tight skirt looked at us questioning. We gave her our room number, but she did not seem to know what we meant; she could not understand English!!! Another waitress quickly came and dealt with the usual crossing out of our room on the list. We asked for Darjeeling tea and both received a small pot with one tea bag in each. The tea was very light and it clearly stated on the bag that it was meant for one cup! We asked for two more teabags. The toaster did not work and when the waitress investigated, she found it was not plugged in. We asked for salt and pepper for our scrambled egg, but the waitress failed to bring it to us. We had to ask other guests if we could use the set on their table. As another reviewer commented, the food/drink was not always replenished. I had to scrape the last of the scrambled egg out of the dish and the orange juice was not replenished. There was some delicious multi grain bread, but there was only a tiny piece left. All very small points, and they did not really take away from the wonderful stay we had at this hotel, but surprising for a hotel of this calibre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helene2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, south Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Lille as a base for touring the WWI battlefields as it's an easy 30 minute drive to Ypres to the NE and Arras to the S. We were given a room named "St Cecille" and it actually comprised 3 former Nuns' cells joined together to form a bedroom and en-suite bathroom - most interesting. The bed itself was supremely comfy, and the room benefited from efficient A/C.
We overlooked a courtyard garden.
There is still a chapel within the hotel as well as a small Art Gallery. The main Courtyard has been enclosed with glass roof and sides and now forms a large bar area where between 7 - 9 pm there is a jazz pianist and double bass player. There are loads of pale blue sofas around, and the staff are very attentive without being 'in your face'.
The hotel's dining room is beautifully decorated in deep red and gold but the food was not really up to the hotel's 5 rating. The breakfast items were not always replenished once they had run out, and when we ate in the Brasserie which is attached to the hotel, the food was disappointing in quality, e.g obvious shop bought dressings on the salad, and meat overcooked (most unusual for France)
Overall re enjoyed our 3 day stay which was very good value. Even taking into account the channel crossing it worked out cheaper than a 3 day stay in an equivalent British Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeatccj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What an excellent renovation of an ancient hospice to a modern 5 star hotel. The mere process of venturing into the ins and outs of this magnificent hotel makes the price worthwhile. It even has its own genuine chapel! You really need to o to this place. ... And its only 10 - 15 min walk to the city centre square

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othello2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business purposes and a local colleague booked it for me. I was delighted when I arrived.

Very warm welcome from the team, beautiful hotel and the staff were able to tell me a bit about he history of the building.

Great room, big desk and comfy bed.

I would certainly visit here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on business based on the recommendation of the company I was visiting. The room was a standard double but was spectacular, large and comfy.

The hotel is unique in that it is a converted hospice, most of the open area's contain numerous works of art. There is even a chapel and museum.

This will be my hotel of choice for future visits in Lille

Pro's:
Very large rooms
Great facilities
Beautiful and lavish bathrooms
Comfy beds
Great service and knowledgeable staff
Good wi-fi speed
The main lounge area is set in the courtyard of the old hospice and has a semi-glass roof

Negatives:
Location - Whilst the old city center is walk-able it may be a little far out for some people
Breakfast - Quality and options were very good but very expensive if not included in the room rate

Room Tip: Although breakfast is very expensive if not included in the room rate, the hotel does have a boulang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#2 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection

Property: L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
Address: 224 rue de Paris, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#8 Business Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel for a unique experience…Behind a beautiful flemish and gothic front you will discover a “museum”hotel that will offer you serenity, warm welcome, quality service and goodgastronomic food.Pass the reception and you will find our bar located in a large hall with aglass roof and decorated in a modern style that contrast with the moreclassical structure of our 18th century chapel.The Hermitage Gantois welcomes you in the heart of Lille, between the town centre and thecity hall. Very well located, the hotel is only 5 minutes drive for Lille 2 trains stations and 15 minutes drivefrom the local airport in Lesquin.The hotel was established in a historical monument from the 15th century and is an exceptional mixbetween ancient architecture and modern design. The Hermitage Gantois offers you a special place torelax surrounded by history and modernity. It is the most prestigious address in the north of France and isaccessible in less than an hour and a half from Bruges, Bruxelles, Paris or London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Lille
Exclusive Hotel l Hermitage Gantois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing