We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snotty staff and no lift.”
Review of NordHotel Citotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NordHotel Citotel
Ranked #88 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed September 14, 2013

First of all BEWARE this hotel is in a really terrible area. We were afraid to walk down the street and it was very difficult to find from the metro stop. We stayed here for one night and when we arrived the first thing we were told by the woman at the desk was "I should tell you, because I can smell from you, that the rooms are non smoking" we were already aware of this. The woman looked at us like we were dirt on her shoe. The elevator was broken and we had to take the very narrow, winding stairs with all of our baggage to the third floor, she didn't even offer to have somebody help us. Our room had two single beds instead of one double. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet was in a seperate room with peeling walls. For the price we didn't expect luxury and the room was adequate for what we paid but the staff were so rude, I can't believe they run their hotel in this way. She didn't even say thank you or goodbye when we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 158 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a 72 room hotel with one lift for 130 guests plus if the hotel is full which it was on our 3 night stay. The lift only accommodates 4 persons. Having experienced several French guests trying to squeeze in an extra one or 2 people into the lift I suppose it came as no surprise that on our second day the lift broke down. The surprise was that it remained inoperable until we departed plus having been given a room on the top floor [the 4th floor] the stairs are old narrow and twisting and where the new building joined the old there is a considerable ramp. The entrance to the stairs is across the car park entrance. The only explanation for this fiasco was an out of order sign on the lift doors in the hotel lobby. There was no apology from the manager who was on duty and a subsequent email to the group who run this hotel CITOTEL has remained unanswered. This is abysmal customer service and I shall not be returning and will urge other travellers to give this hotel a miss. We were not hampered in our enquiries and complaint at the hotel as my travelling companion is a fluent French speaker .Definately not good enough NordHotel!

Room Tip: If you still want to stay here ask for a room at the back rooms at the front have excessive road noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked 4 rooms via booking.com - all very easy.

Flights cancelled the morning before we were supposed to travel (French Air Traffic Control strike). Immediately cancelled Hotel - the day before we were due to arrive....not last minute.

Extremely unhappy to find that charge of EUR80 per room cancellation fee. Hotel advised this was fee levied by Booking.com...not the Hotel. In fact, later admitted that the fee is charged by the Hotel and no, they will not waive charges, even though we are not able to get from UK to France.......

So that's EUR320 for nothing....and nothing I can do about it allegedly! Not the happiest bunny in the world.

Rescheduled cancelled meeting for July - will I book this Hotel....oh not a hope........

Bad enough to charge during an ATC strike, but to lie about it is the pits.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank SueGlorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel, and were reasonably happy with it. It is not in the most salubrious area of the town, and there is a bit of a hike to the nearest Metro. However, it is clean, the staff were very nice and helpful and, although we did not use it, there is an impressive secure parking area (probably just as well, round there!)
The room was small but adequate, but I hated the separate toilet without a washbasin! Breakfast was ok, omelettes (!) and really nasty baked beans, but loads of little cocktail sausages, bread, cold meat and cheese.
All in all, a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybreakfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Not the best location, really quite rough, but the hotel is clean and tidy. Parking excellent and if you're travellng by car the location is not a problem. But if like us you find most of the other hotels are full, this hotel will do just nicely. We even found one of the best ever Moroccan restaurants within 300 yrds, and very reasonably priced. Ask reception for directions for Le Tagine it really is very good.
By the way I would sty here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stopped at this hotel, and you certainly get what you pay for. Not in a good area of town!! The secure parking is very secure. The hotel is basic and not the best place, staff were good and helpful. It wasn't as clean as it could be but that is more to to it's tiredness than bad housekeeping. Certainly wouldn't want to stop there for more than one night and doubt very much if I would go back. We didn't eat there as y

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked one night at this hotel through Expedia based on Tripadvisor reviews and because most of the reasonable hotels in Lille were fully booked. The hotel is just outside the main part of Lille, and transportation is necessary to get to the more interesting parts of Lille and train stations. Secure car parking was available for a modest charge. The hotel is very basic and the two rooms we booked were small. Decent bathroom, but mold on the ceiling of one. The carpeting was worn and questionable. Otherwise the rooms and the rest of the hotel were clean and well-kept. We did not take the breakfast that was available for a charge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. An economical place for an overnight stay, but would not recommend for a vacation of any length.

Room Tip: One of our rooms had a double bed and a single bed, the other a double bed and two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Value-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
Appart'City Lille Euralille
#3 of 3 in La Madeleine
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eklo Hotels Lille
#33 of 107 in Lille
70 reviews
Flandre
Best Hotel Lille/Gambetta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NordHotel Citotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NordHotel Citotel

Address: 48 rue du Faubourg D Arras, 59000, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: $58 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NordHotel Citotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NordHotel Citotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nord Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing