We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Lille
Nearby Hotels
Inter-Hotel Ascotel(Villeneuve d'Ascq)
$73
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$144
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
$99
Novotel Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$155
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Olivarius Apart'Hotel(Villeneuve d'Ascq)
$88
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$190
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$113
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
170
310
126
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
310
126
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseurostar stationpillow sprayexecutive roomold towngood sizetravelling by trainhotel lobbyexcellent locationtown centreshort walknight breakchecking outbed was very comfortablestayed here for two nightsrooms are largebars and restaurantsbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 672 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Crown Plaza - thurs / fri / sat night. Travelled with a friend so had requested a twin room ,having read previous reviews ,our bathroom wasn`t separated by glass walls , but had a frosted window which was fine. Had no complaints about the cleanliness, bath robes/soap etc were replaced daily. Hotel is a very short walk from Eurolille shopping centre and across the road from the eurostar station.

Breakfast was adequate - usual continental offerings with some `warm dishes`- need to be there earlier rather than later on the weekday mornings as hotel appeared to be primarily used by business people and the food - hot and cold doesn`t appear to be replenished. - it is totally self service including coffee ( which is only as hot as the amount of people using it ).
Having said that I would stay there again. - nice and quiet at night apart from a little traffic noise (that I am not used too- if I`m being picky!...)

NIce location/hotel if you`d rather not be in the centre of the town and don`t mind a 15 minute walk to the main squares.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tigerlily73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Recently stayed for a Friday night with my wife - short weekend break.Hotel seems mostly for business travellers.
Main complaint was the cleanliness ! The carpet in our Superior Bedroom was heavily stained as was the armchair seat. Would not have wanted to sit on it !!
Advised Reception on checking out and was told that the manager would contact me by email. No communication received to date !

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sevdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed here for three nights in July and we LOVED it! Having stayed at many hotels throughout the World, my standards have become rather high, and this hotel did not dissappoint at all.
The location is excellent, right outside the Euralille Eurostar station. There is a huge Shopping Centre only moments away called Euralille which has loads of shops.
The room size was huge (we booked a King). The bed was really comfortable and the Air Conditioning is spot on. The view from the room was the whole of Lille. The Bathroom is very art deco, very clean and with luxury Shower gel. (The shower takes a bit of fiddling!)
Every day when they clean your room, they give you a free bottle of Evian which is a nice touch.
Overall the service we recieved from the staff was excellent. There is a blonde lady at reception named Elyse whose customer service was outstanding. She was friendly and catered to our every need.
We didnt take breakfast at the hotel and there are many cafes just outside and inside the Euralille shopping centre. The best place for breakfast is a place called Paul. The shopping centre also has a Carrefour supermarket for cheap and delicious goodies. We walked down and discovered "Old Lille" which is very nice with cobbled streets, there is a restaurant called L'Orange Expression which you really must try. As well as that, just minutes from the hotel is a place called CrePizza which makes fresh pancakes and really delicious pizzas.
Considering that there's not really much to do in Lille, it was one of the best breaks I've had and this was due to the Hotel and the staff, especially Elyse.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Noms20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in August 2006. It is perfectly located in the centre of Lille, next to the train station (which you can't hear because of the brilliant sound proofing), shops, restaurants etc. It offers great value for money. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice, beautifully set out. The staff were incredibly helpful and very pleasant. The room was lovely, and the view over the city was great.
Our only gripe is that if you come by car (which we did) you have to pay 18 Euros per day to park in the underground car park.

5  Thank Couple_from_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

I read the reviews of this hotel, and thought that we would spend an excellent few days in comfort post our trip to Paris. Unfortunately, this proved to be a huge mistake. In strong contrast to our Parisien hotel, everything from the staff to the food was incredibly poor:

We arrived on Saturday evening, and could not believe the abrupt and aggressive attitude of the girls at reception. Paris is notorious for people who are ‘haughty’, but we found that stereotype to be far more apt for the people of Lille – our hotel being a classic example. Changing our double room to a twin was a ‘problem’ despite the fact that the hotel was mostly empty; and we were given no information about Lille itself, a minor service that maximizes the experience of a stay in an unknown city. We weren’t even told where the hotel’s amenities were – and when we did find the bar, it was so overpriced it was ridiculous. Three single (cheap!!) brandies amounted to thirty three Euros; one bottle of white wine (Petit Chablis) came to thirty five Euros – and we found the same bottle in the local supermarket for eight Euros. At 9am the breakfast just wasn’t edible. The sausages were half cooked and cold, and lay in an abundance of cold grease in the serving dishes. The cherry tomatoes were literally floating in grease, and were also cold. The scrambled eggs were literally unbelievable: they weren’t even a solid mass, and were more like scrambled ‘milk’ – there was definitely no ‘egg’ in them. There was only a few slices of sweet bread for toast, we had to ‘make do’ with some hard bread rolls instead. The continental breakfast wasn’t any better: the cheese had sweated, and the meat had curled and changed colour because it had been there so long. There was no selection of fruit – unless you count a bowl of dried fruit next to the cereal (in packets – cereal was the only thing appetizing and edible). There were boiled eggs available, but they were hard and fishy: we are still uncertain as to whether they were duck eggs, or if they were just off. When we asked for a second cup of tea, the waitress huffily stomped off, and returned 15 minutes later with just one single teapot of hot water, when there were three of us at the table. For the luxury of enduring this meal, we were charged an additional EIGHTEEN Euros per meal per person!!!!!!! when we checked out – plus two Euros city tax. We have eaten breakfast in five star hotels in Italy and Spain and it hasn’t amounted to that, and the breakfasts (both in terms of selection and presentation) have been out of this world. I wouldn’t have even rated the breakfast served at the Crown Plaza a one star – it was more like the type of food one would expect in a basic Thai hostel.

Anyone considering going to Lille should also be aware that EVERYTHING closes on a Sunday. When we asked the girls at reception if there was anything that we could do, their answer was (typically) ‘no’ – further, one girl suggested that all the restaurants in town were closed as well, leaving us in a quandary because the hotel’s restaurants were closed at the weekends. However, we found a nice farmers market and a lovely bistro in the old town where we had brunch (we had missed breakfast for obvious reasons). Dinner was at Omnia – a wonderful bar/restaurant that is definitely worth a visit.

All in all, Lille was not a good experience. It’s prices were en par with Paris, but the service and quality of food in town (particularly for lunches) were poor. The hotel was abysmal in terms of service and cleanliness - check under the beds, there are extensive networks of spider’s webs to keep you company, and there is black dust in the toilets because the floors are not mopped by the maid. I would not return to this hotel or the city again – there are too many vibrant cities in Europe with more to do and experience..

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank XmasSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews